Research Guides: U. S. History: The Nineteenth Century and the Civil War: Databases

Books and Articles

These databases provide access to secondary source material including scholarly articles, books and book reviews. Access is limited to UT users.

America : History and Life with Full Text
Primary index for U.S. and Canadian history. Indexes articles, book reviews, and dissertations.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Archive Finder
A current directory of over 5,480 manuscript repositories and more than 132,000 collections of primary source material across the United States.
FirstSearch
Worldcat can be used to search for manuscript collections held by libraries. Limit to archival material by checking the box on the advanced search page.
Databases that can be searched together or separately, include:
Proceedings First
Papers First
Clase Periodica
First Search Worldcat
First Search Worldcat Dissertations & Theses

Eight Centuries
Indexes US and British periodicals from 1786-1925.
C19, The Nineteenth Century Index
Combined index to several resources for U. S. and Britain. Includes books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives.
Sources include:
Books
• Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue
• The Nineteenth Century
Periodicals
• American Periodicals
• British Periodicals
• Cotgreave's Index
• An Index to Legal Periodical Literature
• Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849
• Periodicals Index Online
• Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
• Stead's Index to Periodical Literature
• The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
Official Publications
• House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
• Proceedings of the Old Bailey
• The U.S. Serial Set
Archives
• Archive Finder
Newspapers
Palmer's Index to The Times
Reference
• The "Bookman" Directory of Booksellers, Publishers and Authors
• Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism
For more information about the sources see Products
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890-1982.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

she/they

Email Me

Contact:

Hodges Library

Subjects: History

Sheet Music from Center for Popular Music, Middle Tennessee State University