The Literature and Pedagogy Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
Career information can be found in the Resources for Careers in Music subject guide.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised August 2010, Nathalie Hristov
Professor & Music Librarian
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center G04 (ground floor)
(865) 974-9893
Databases and Indexes
- Music Periodicals Database
Supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.
- Music Index
Indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Bibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
- FirstSearch
Search millions of bibliographic records from worldwide library collections.
Journals
- The DiapasonCall Number: Electronic journal
- The American organistCall Number: Electronic journal
- The TrackerCall Number: Electronic journal
- Organ plus : a catalogue of ensemble music for organ and instrumentsCall Number: ML128.O6 S7 1977
Music by Black and Latinx Composers for Organ
The George F. DeVine Music Library has a robust collection of music by underrepresented composers. To search for printed music in our collection for organ by Black and Latinx composers, go to the Advanced Search Option in our catalog and search the title field for “Music by Black and Latinx Composers Collection.” Add the term “ORGAN” in the subject search field. Finally, choose the option at the top of the search box to search the UT Collections.
Examples from our collection:
Thomas Wright "Fats" Waller : performances in transcription, 1927-1943 by Call Number: M2 .R2375 v.41Publication Date: 2000
