LGBT Research Guide: Overview
On this Guide:
--Journal and Magazine Articles
--Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
--Ideas for Search Terms
--How to Get Research Assistance
Ideas for Search Terms/Keywords
When books and articles were written and cataloged in the past, terms were used that we now would consider outdated or even offensive. Remember, to make certain you are searching comprehensively, it is sometimes necessary to use terms such as homosexual, transsexuals, etc. See a full list of LGBT subject headings to get more search term ideas.
Coming Out (Sexual Orientation)
Gay Liberation Movement
Gays in Popular Culture
Finding Resources on LGBT Topics
If you have questions about how to start your research on LGBTQ+ topics, you can contact Donna Braquet, Reference Librarian and Director of UT's OUTreach: LGBT & Ally Resource Center. Donna can be reached at firstname.lastname@example.org or 865.974.0016.
LGBT Life With Full Text
LGBT Life allows searching across hundreds of books and journals related to gender and sexuality. Full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines, newspapers, and books. Click Exit when finished.
Current and controversial issues with summaries, pro/con statements, tables & graphs, and lists of further reading. A great resource for informative or persuasive speeches or brief papers. Recent reports include gay marriage, gays on campus, transgender issues, bullying, and gay rights. Reports go back to 1923, so this is also a great resource to use to quickly see how perception of these issues has changed.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to more than 20 LGBT specific journals and more than 30 sexuality/relationship/family related journals. After searching for your topic, you can limit to magazines, academic journals or newspapers. When you search this database, you will be searching the following journals: Journal of Homosexuality, Lesbian News, Advocate, Journal of Lesbian Studies, Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services, Journal of Bisexuality, Journal of GLBT Family Studies, to name a few.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes projects and archives with more than 3,600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents. Also includes reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women's Studies International 1972+
Covering feminist research, WSI sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, book chapters, proceedings, theses, dissertations, websites & web documents, and grey literature. Click Exit before leaving the database.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 1450-1910
Original source material from British and European archives for the study of history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective. Includes manuscripts, printed works and illustrations. Topics include: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility and The Body.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
Everyday Life & Women in America 1800-1920
Full-text primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library, including monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues,religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family 1859-1995
Provides a visual and searchable archive illustrating how American day-to-day life, attitudes, mores, and behaviors changed over time.
Black Women Writers 1760-current
The Black Women Writers database celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives an unparalleled view of the struggles of black women through time.
Latin American Women Writers 1842-current
The Latin American Women Writers database is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries, who address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region.
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700
Contains manuscripts either written or collected by women in Great Britain during the 16th and 17th centuries. Contents include advice, diaries, medical writings, sermon notes, and travel writing.
Ethnic Newswatch 1990+
Full text national and international news articles from over 230 publications of special interest to the ethnic, minority and native populations of the United States. In English and Spanish. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Clinical trials, drugs, vaccine research, federally approved treatment guidelines, and related AIDS information resources.
865-974-0016 (leave voicemail)
--Biology, EEB, BCMB, Microbiology, NIMBioS, GST
--Child & Family Studies
--Women, Gender & Sexuality
Twitter & Facebook: