The term mergers and acquisitions (M&A) refers to the consolidation of companies or their major business assets through financial transactions between companies. A company may purchase and absorb another company outright, merge with it to create a new company, acquire some or all of its major assets, make a tender offer for its stock, or stage a hostile takeover. All are M&A activities.
Economists at the Federal Reserve Board conduct innovative research on a broad range of topics in economics and finance. In addition to presenting their research to policymakers, Board economists share their research at academic conferences and publish it in peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly outlets.
Search for company, then select Morningstar Insights on the left menu. Covers both U.S. and international corporations.
Click on Companies on the top blue menu bar or use the Database Search box on the right to find stock reports and analysis for U.S public companies.
A weekly financial report with commentary and recommendations from market analysts on industries and companies. Also contains interviews with CEOs, investment managers, and analysts.
Click on "Industry Analysis" on the top of the home screen to retrieve industry analysis reports by Mergent analysts.
Choose Lookup Company from left menu bar. Summary analysis is updated quarterly.
Bloomberg terminals are located in the Haslam Business Building. Access to these terminals are restricted for the Haslam College of Business. For more information, go here.
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System) performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
A collection of thousands of full-text magazines and newspapers plus corporate and stock market data.
The Online Investor
Provides news on latest announced deals involving publicly traded U.S. companies.
Mergers & Acquisitions
A journal providing full coverage of merger and acquisition activity and data on mergers and acquisitions worldwide; concise articles, pricing, structuring and acquisition strategies, trends and in-depth analysis.