Research Guides: Sacred Music: Print Resources

Browse the Stacks!

Use call number ranges to browse the physical collection:

M14 Organ accompaniments for hymns and liturgical works
M2000-2101 Sacred vocal music (choral)
M2102-2114 Sacred vocal music (solo)
M2115-2146 Hymnals
M2147-2188 Liturgy & ritual
M2190-2191 Sacred vocal music for children
M2193-2196 Songs (part and solo)
M2198-2199 Gospel, revival
ML128.C54 Church music
ML128.H8 Hymns
ML123.L2 Lenten and Easter music
ML128.P Protestant church music
ML128.S2 Sacred vocal music
ML123.W4 Wedding music
ML2400, 3260 Cantatas
ML3201-3251 Oratorios
ML3000-3775 History and criticism
MT88, 915 Church choirs, Choir training
MT865 Protestant chorales
MT875 Chorus and part singing

Subject Headings

Use Subject Headings to help you locate items in the online catalog:

CANTILLATION
CHAPELS (MUSIC)
CHORUSES, SACRED
CHURCH MUSIC
CHURCH MUSICIANS
MUSIC AND MAGIC
MUSIC AND OCCULTISM
MUSIC FOR MEDITATION
MUSIC IN … (CHURCHES, CONVENTS, MONASTERIES, RABBINICAL LITERATURE, ETC…)
MUSIC IN THE BIBLE
MUSIC – RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
SACRED MUSIC
SACRED MUSICALS
SACRED SONGS
SACRED VOCAL ENSEMBLES … (DUETS, TRIOS, etc.)
SACRED VOCAL MUSIC (includes discography and criticism)
SYNAGOGUE MUSIC

Select Print Resources

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Stacks:

History and Criticism

Te Deum : the church and music : a textbook, a reference, a history, an essay by Westermeyer, P.
Call Number: BV290.W47 1998
Music in American religious experience by Bohlman, P.V.
Call Number: ML2911.M87 2006
A brief history of Christian music : from biblical times to the present by Wilson-Dickson, A.
Call Number: ML3000.W54 1997
Music in worship : the use of music in the church service by Ashton, J.N.
Call Number: ML3001.A82 M8
The history of Catholic Church music. by Fellerer, K.
Call Number: ML3002.F32 1961
From sacred song to ritual music : twentieth-century understandings of Roman Catholic worship music by Joncas, Jan Michael
Call Number: ML3007.J66 1997
An introduction to Gregorian chant by Crocker, Richard L.
Call Number: ML3082.C73 2000
Protestant church music; a history. by Blume, F.
Call Number: ML3100.B5913
Jubilate! : church music in the evangelical tradition by Hustad, D.
Call Number: ML3100.H87
The Sound of the Dove: Singing in Appalachian Primitive Baptist Churches by Patterson, B.
Call Number: ML3160.P28 1995
Abide with me : the world of Victorian hymns by Bradley, I.
Call Number: ML3186.B73 1997
Hymntune index and related hymn materials by Wasson, D.D.
Call Number: ML3186 .W2 [CD-ROM]
How sweet the sound : the golden age of gospel by Boyer, H.
Call Number: ML3187.B7 1995
Happy in the service of the Lord : African-American sacred vocal harmony quartets in Memphis by Lornell, K.
Call Number: ML3187.L67 1995
Contemporary worship music : a biblical defense by Frame, John M.
Call Number: ML3187.5.F73 1997
Public worship, private faith : sacred harp and American folksong by Bealle, J.
Call Number: ML3188.B43 1997
Gather into one : praying and singing globally by Hawn, C.
Call Number: ML3000 .H29 2003
Sufi music of India and Pakistan : sound, context, and meaning in qawwali by Qureshi, Regula
Call Number: ML3197 .Q74 1986
The Lord's song in a strange land : music and identity in contemporary Jewish worship by Summit, J.
Call Number: ML3195.S96 2000
Dancing spirits : rhythms and rituals of Haitian Vodun, the Rada rite by Fleurant, G.
Call Number: ML3197.F54 1996
A Shaker musical legacy by Opdahl, Robert C.
Call Number: ML3178.S5 O73 2004
People get ready! : a new history of Black gospel music by Darden, Bob
Call Number: ML3187 .D37 2004
Church music in America, 1620-2000 by Ogasapian, John
Call Number: ML2911 .O43 2007
Readings in African American church music and worship by Abbington, James
Call Number: ML2911.9 .R42 2001
Indigenous religious musics by Harvey, Graham
Call Number: ML2900 .I53 2000

Hymnology

Hymns and tunes; an index. by Diehl, K.
Call Number: BV305.D5 1966
A dictionary of hymnology, setting forth the origin and history of Christian hymns of all ages and nations. by Julian, J.
Call Number: BV305.J82 1957 v.1-2
Sing with understanding : an introduction to Christian hymnology by Eskew, H.
Call Number: BV310.E75 1995
"I will sing the wondrous story" : a history of Baptist hymnody in North America by Music, David W.
Call Number: ML3160 .M87 2008
The story of Southern hymnology by Stevenson, A.
Call Number: ML3111.S8 1975

Reference Books

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Reference Section:

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts
Call Number: Ref. ML13.M83
(Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.)
An index of Gregorian chant. by Bryden, J.R.
Call Number: ML102.C45 B8
A dictionary of Protestant church music. by Davidson, J.
Call Number: ML102.C5 D33
Key words in church music. by Schalk, C.
Call Number: ML102.C5 K5
Historical dictionary of sacred music. by Swain, J.P.
Call Number: ML102 .C5 S83 2006
Concise encyclopedia of Jewish music. by Nulman, M.
Call Number: ML106.J49 N84
American psalmody by Metcalf, F.
Call Number: ML120.U5 M3 1968
Church Music: An International Bibliography. by Von Ende, R.
Call Number: ML128.C54 V66
Vocal solos for Christian churches. by Espina, N.
Call Number: ML128.V7E8 1984
Hymnal handbook for Standard hymns and gospel songs. by Rodeheaver, H.
Call Number: ML3186.R68 1975