Research Guides: Jazz and Blues: Print Resources

Browse the Stacks!

Use call number ranges to browse the physical collection:

M1356, 1366, 1630 / Scores & recordings
ML102.J3 / Dictionary
ML105 / Biographical dictionary
ML128.J3 / Bibliography
ML156.4.J3 / Discography
ML200.8 / American music
ML385 / Biography–Collected
ML394 / Biography–Performers
ML417 / Biography–Pianists
ML420 / Biography–Singers
ML1311 / U. S. Jazz Bands
ML2811 / U. S. Jazz vocal music
ML3521 / Blues
ML3561.J3 / History and criticism
ML3650 / British jazz
MT68 / Improvisation
MT86 / Dance orchestra conducting
MT239 / Instruction & study (piano)

Subject Headings

Use Subject Headings to help you locate items in the online catalog:

BIG BANDS
BLUES (MUSIC)
BLUES MUSICIANS
BOP (MUSIC)
DANCE ORCHESTRAS
DIXIELAND MUSIC
IMPROVISATION (MUSIC)
JAZZ
JAZZ –1921-1930, etc. [by decade]
JAZZ –BIBLIOGRAPHY
JAZZ –[COUNTRY OR CITY]
JAZZ –DICTIONARIES
JAZZ –DISCOGRAPHY
JAZZ –HISTORY AND CRITICISM
JAZZ –INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
JAZZ MUSICIANS
JAZZ MUSICIANS –UNITED STATES
JAZZ VOCALS
RAGTIME MUSIC

Reference Books

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Reference Section:

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts
Call Number: Ref. ML13.M83
(Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.)
The Virgin Encyclopedia of Jazz by Larkin, C.
Call Number: Ref M102.J3V57 2004
Encyclopedia of the Blues by Komara, E.
Call Number: Ref ML102.B6E53 2006
Encyclopedia of the Blues by Herzhaft, G.
Call Number: Ref ML102.B6 H39 1997
The Big Book of Blues: A Biographical Encyclopedia by Santelli, R.
Call Number: Ref ML102.B6 S26 2001
Folk and Blues: The Encyclopedia by Stambler, I.
Call Number: Ref ML102.F66S74 2001
Who's Who of British Jazz by Chilton, J.
Call Number: Ref ML102.J3 C4 2004
Richard Cook's Jazz Encyclopedia by Cook, R.
Call Number: Ref ML102.J3 C66 2005
The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz by Feather, L.
Call Number: Ref ML102.J3F39 1999
Free Jazz and Free Improvisation : An Encyclopedia by Jenkins, T.
Call Number: Ref ML102.J3 J46 2004 v. 1-2
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by Kernfeld, B.
Call Number: Ref ML102.J3N48 2002 v.1-3
–Also included in the online resource: Grove Music
The Tin Pan Alley Song Encyclopedia by Hischak, T.
Call Number: Ref ML102.P66H57 2004
The Jazz Ensemble Companion : A Guide to Outstanding Big Band Arrangements Selected by Some of the Foremost Jazz Educators by Caniato, M.
Call Number: Ref ML128.B29 C36 2009
A Blues Bibliography by Ford, R.
Call Number: Ref ML128.B49 F67 2007
Jazz Books in the 1990s : An Annotated Bibliography by Hochstat-Greenberg, J. L.
Call Number: Ref ML128.J3 H63 2010
Jazz Scholarship and Pedagogy: A Research and Information Guide by Meadows, E.
Call Number: Ref ML128.J3M34 2006
The Penguin Guide to Jazz Recordings by Cook, R.
Call Number: Ref ML156.4.J3C67 2008
The Penguin Guide to Blues Recordings by Russell, T.
Call Number: Ref ML3521 .R88 2006