Research Guides: Business: Retail, E-Commerce & Consumerism: Consumer Attitudes & Opinions

Consumer Attitudes & Opinions

Does public opinion affect consumer behavior? Have attitudes on spending changed? Polls and public opinion surveys can help to provide answers to these questions and more.

Academic Search Complete
Search this multidisciplinary database for articles on polls and consumers. Results will include articles drawn from hundreds of magazines and scholarly journals, most including the full text of the article.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It focuses on seven sectors: global attitudes, religion and public life, the impact of the Internet on American life, social and demographic trends, Hispanic attitudes, journalism, and the press.
PollingReport.com
The web site for the newsletter Polling Report. This site provides polls from many sources, including Gallup, Harris, Pew Research, and media organizations. Emphasis on public affairs but also some consumer issues.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
An extensive archive of public opinion information providing access to the iPOLL database, a database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935.

The Odum Institute for Research in Social Science
Access to survey datasets from Louis Harris polls. To search, select the Data Catalog, then within the Odum Archive choose Public Opinion Data and the Harris Collection.