Selected Readings for Bankruptcy
Bankruptcy Law
- Bankruptcy BasicsBankruptcy Basics provides basic information to debtors, creditors, court personnel, the media, and the general public on different aspects of the federal bankruptcy laws. It also provides individuals who may be considering bankruptcy with a basic explanation of the different chapters under which a bankruptcy case may be filed and to answer some of the most commonly asked questions about the bankruptcy process.
- Corporate Bankruptcy - by SECWhat happens when a public company files for protection under the federal bankruptcy laws? Who protects the interests of investors? Do the old securities have any value when, and if, the company is reorganized?
- Personal BankruptcyChapter 7 or Chapter 13 are mainly for individuals. The property a debtor can keep through the bankruptcy is determined by the specific exemptions available under state law. This site gives you a brief insight of the exemptions.
- The Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005 (BAPCPA)There are several key changes to the new bankruptcy law, called the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005 (BAPCPA).
- Statistical Data - Bankruptcy FraudTypes of Bankruptcy Fraud: Concealment of assets, petition mills, and multiple filings are the most common types of bankruptcy fraud.
How to search for a Bankruptcy Case
- Business Bankruptcy SearchWith your own subscription, the site allows you to search major bankruptcies since 1986 (publicly traded companies and selected private companies). You can search by company name, company assets level, business type and filing date.
- Nexis UniClick on the "Business Law" section in this database to locate bankruptcy cases. For paper copies or the access to the Westlaw database, please contact the Law Library with the UT Law School.
- Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER)Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator. PACER is provided by the Federal Judiciary in keeping with its commitment to providing public access to court information via a centralized service.
- The UCLA-LoPucki Bankruptcy Research Database (BRD)The UCLA-LoPucki Bankruptcy Research Database (BRD) is a data collection, data linking, and data dissemination project of the UCLA School of Law. The BRD's mission is to promote bankruptcy research by making bankruptcy data available to academic researchers throughout the world. [NOTE: UTK Hodges Library does not have this database subscription. Users can access the free materials online. To access the UCLA restricted section, users need to pay the access fee themselves.]
Local Associations
- American Bankruptcy Institutehe American Bankruptcy Institute is dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues.
- National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys (NACBA)NACBA is the only national organization dedicated to serving the needs of consumer bankruptcy attorneys and protecting the rights of consumer debtors in bankruptcy.
- The National Association of Bankruptcy Trustees (the NABT)The National Association of Bankruptcy Trustees is a nonprofit association formed in 1982 to address the needs of chapter 7 bankruptcy trustees and to promote the effectiveness of the bankruptcy system as a whole.