Research Guides: Business: Accounting, Auditing & Taxation: Financials/Annual Reports/SEC Documents

Financials

Financial data is available for public corporations only, not for privately held companies or for subsidiaries.

Mergent Online
For U.S. and international corporations, has downloadable annual and quarterly balance sheet and other financial data for 3-15 years. Data available as reported, standardized, or restated.
Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Search for company, then select Financials on the left menu for 10 years of annual data. Covers both U.S. and international corporations. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
NetAdvantage
Summary financial data for U.S. public corporations. Usually covers 8-10 years.
Screen reader users or users of keyboard navigation will require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Factiva
From the green menu bar on the upper left of the database screen, choose Companies/Markets, then Company and search for a company name or ticker. Includes both U.S. and international corporations. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Value Line
Choose Lookup Company from left menu bar. Provides summary data for 10-15 years for about 1600 U.S. corporations.
Mergent Archives
Brief summary financials for U.S. and international corporations. Reports cover from 1909 to 2006.

Annual Reports/SEC Documents

Both annual shareholder reports, 10K's and other SEC filings for the current and for prior years are available via the databases below. In addition, annual shareholder reports for the current year can usually be found on a company's web site. Current SEC financial disclosure filings, such as the annual 10K report, may also be available on the company web site.

Mergent Online
Has annual shareholder reports from 1995 forward. SEC filings are limited to the last 90 days.
Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Has annual shareholder reports and SEC 10K and 10Q reports from 2000 forward.
Limited to 7 simultaneous users.

EDGAR
From the SEC official web site, contains a full collection all SEC filings from 1995 forward.
Historical Annual Reports, 10K's and Proxy Statements
An historical collection of these documents is available on microfiche in the Library Storage. Annual reports begin in 1966, 10K's in 1974 and proxies in 1978. This microfiche collection ends in 1997.

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
Annual reports (1844-2008) available for over 800 companies, 43,000 reports, 1.3M pages. Searchable puff images with indexed data such as: financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies. It can also be browsed by company name, related names, industry, or date.