Research Guides: Business: Entrepreneurship & Small Business: Market Research

Product Research

Gale Business Insights
Formerly known as "Business & Company Resource Center", this database provides company histories, market share articles, business ranking annual, company profiles and industry profiles.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation.
For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Planning, funding, starting, and managing resources for starting and operating a business. Provides sample business plans, journals, multimedia content, and more.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation.
For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Passport
Market intelligence on countries, product groups, and consumers from Euromonitor International. UT subscription covers market and economic statistics only.
Allow pop-ups and Active-X for this database. Formerly called Passport GMID.
Hospitality & Tourism Index
Index and full text of scholarly research articles and industry news in all areas of hospitality and tourism
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
MarketResearch.com Academic
A collection of full-text market research reports that may include extended profiles and data about narrow and highly specific industry segments or product types.
SBRnet : Sports Business Research Network
Full-text articles from trade magazines and newsletters on the business of sports. Includes product data.

Demographics and More

American Factfinder
From the U.S. Census Bureau, has both demographic and economic data. Select People from the left menu for the latest population data or select the Business & Industry category for the latest Economic Census, annual surveys of manufacturing and more.
Demographics - US Labor Department
Demographics USA
Call Number: Ref. HF5415.2 .S84
Available in paper only in Reference. An annual survey of consumer buying power with market, population, household, and retail sales data for the U.S., for states, and for counties. Also has market projections, buying power index, and effective buying income.

SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Users must create an account or use Guest Account.
Social Explorer
Current and historical census data and demographic information. Users can create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
SRDS Media Solutions
Detailed advertising rates, contact information, and circulation data for a variety of media types. Also includes demographic and lifestyle interests for counties and marketing areas (DMAs). Must use Internet Explorer.

Census Business Builder
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
more...less...
Instruction to use (https://www.census.gov/content/dam/Census/data/data-tools/cbb/cbb-data-upload-feature.pdf)