Research Guides: Environmental Policy: Databases and Selected Journals

Environmental Databases

AGRICOLA
Covers publications in agriculture and other related fields from 1970 to present. Also available as a free database from USDA.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

ECOLEX
Database on environmental law that includes treaties, international law, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.

E&E News
Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues. Also includes EIS database with details on Environmental policy
Engineering Village: GeoRef
Indexes scientific literature in the geosciences, including geology and earth science research publications.
Users of screen readers should avoid using iPads and also the Firefox browser.
OnePetro
Full-text access to technical journals and literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
PAIS Index
Covers public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, and includes journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and more.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors. Also includes access to Essential Science Indicators.
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Journals to explore

Clean Environment Technologies and Environmental Policy
"Clean Technologies and Environmental Policy publishes papers that aid in the development, demonstration, and commercialization of cleaner products and processes as well as effective environmental policy strategies."
Corporate Social Responsibility and Environmental Management
Peer-reviewed, international journal that publishes research on policy management and accountability measures for sustainable development and environmental responsibility.
Ecology, Environment, and Conservation Business (LexisNexis Academic)
Interface that uses keyword searching in a publication scope restricted to ecology, environment, policy, and conservation business.
Environment, Development and Sustainability
International journal with a focus on environmental management, environmental economics, and earth and environmental sciences.
Environmental Economics & Policy Studies
Environmental Economics and Policy Studies focuses on the interdisciplinary relationship between environmental economics and environmental policy and their combined effect on environmental issues.
Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP)
EHP's editorial focus is on the relationship between the environment and human health. The journal is published jointly by the U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, the National Institutes of Health, and the Department of Health and Human Services.
Environmental Management
"Environmental Management offers research and opinions on use and conservation of natural resources, protection of habitats and control of hazards. The journal aims to improve communication, making ideas and results from any field available to practitioners from other backgrounds."
Environmental Science and Policy
Environmental Science and Policy’s focus is the “interdisciplinary research of policy relevance on environmental issues such as climate change, biodiversity, environmental pollution and wastes, renewable and non-renewable natural resources, sustainability, and the interactions among these issues.”
Environmental Science in Science Direct
Full-text access to articles and research in the environmental sciences published by Elseiver and affiliates.
Environment and Planning C: Government and Policy
"Environment and Planning C: Government and Policy is a fully refereed journal committed to interdisciplinary research on issues of Government and Policy with an international perspective."
Ethics and the Environment
Published by the University of Georgia, Ethics and the Environment is an interdisciplinary periodical that provides articles, discussions, commentary, and book reviews on topics and issues related to environmental ethics.
Journal of Environmental Assessment Policy & Management (JEAPM)
(JEAPM) strives to explore the relationship between environmental management and assessment to improve policy development.
Journal of Environmental Management
"The Journal of Environmental Management is a journal for the publication of peer reviewed, original research for all aspects of management and the managed use of the environment, both natural and man-made."
Journal of Policy Analysis and Management
The aim of the journal is to survey methods and issues in policy analysis and public management.
Policy Sciences
An interdisciplinary, international analysis of policy issues from different perspectives. Included are essays and critiques on controversial or debated topics in the field.
Public Opinion Quarterly
Public Opinion Quarterly publishes essays and scholarly research on opinion/ communication analysis and public opinion survey and investigation methods.
Review of Policy Research
"Coverage of substantive issues related to policy formation, implementation and evaluation, and theoretical pieces on controversies in the study of policy."
SEJournal
SEJournal is the quarterly newsletter of the Society of Environmental Journalists.
Sustainable Development
Journal's focus is on the interrelationship between policy management, economic impact, and conflicting agendas as they relate to sustainable development.
Sustainable Development Policy and Law
Student-run publication that focuses on comparative environmental law and interdisciplinary research on environmental sustainability and economic development.
UCLA Journal of Environmental Law and Policy
Scholarly publication that focuses on law and policy as they relate to environmental and land use issues.

Environmental Policy

Google Scholar

Selected Online Reference Materials

Selected Print Reference

Environmental Databases

Additional Databases

Journals to explore