Journalism and Electronia Media:Tips for Searching State/Local Newspapers

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

Lexis & Factiva Databases

State and local newspapers are covered in LexisNexis Academic and Factiva but not comprehensively. Coverage in these databases runs from about 1990 to current but varies by title. The newspapers covered in these databases are not included in our catalog.       
There is similar content in LexisNexis Academic and Factiva. They both provide access to: Newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, and more. Factiva tends to be stronger in regional and international news sources.

Factiva Database

Factiva
- searching for state newspapers

Expand the "Source" field
Pull down the "Source Category" box, select "Publications by Region"
Expand North America/United States to select State
Select publication(s) by clicking on the title
Select date range to search; enter search terms

OR
Expand the "Source" field
Pull down the "Source Category" box, select "Publications by Type"
Then Newspapers/Newspapers US/
Select newspapers to search from the title list

OR
Expand the "Source" field
Use the search box or the alphabetical list to search for the newspaper by name

Lexis Nexis Academic Database

LexisNexis Academic
- Searching Newspapers and Wires
  Use the Search form located in the News section of LexisNexis Academic. On this form, you can use the drop-down box to select a specific type
  of news publication to:

  • Search through content that comes specifically from Newspapers
  • Search through "Small Town" newspapers
  • Search through newswires
  • Search non-US newspapers
  • Find news articles by author, headline, or subject
  • Narrow results by date

- Searching a specific source

  • Use the “Sources tab” then "Browse Sources"
  • Under "Country, Select “united states” then region “select a region or state” then topics “general news”
  • Click on the yellow folder icons to see the titles for the region or state that are included in the database
  • Click icon next to the title to view coverage for that source
  • To search a source(s), checkmark the source(s) you want and hit OK-Continue
  • The source(s) will be added to your search
  • You can search segments (headline, byline, section, etc.) using the "Add Section Search" box
    you must add search terms e.g. Obama jobs
  • Your search will appear in the "Search Terms" box at the top; hit the Search key to start your search

    OR

    Use the "Find Sources" link to navigate to the Source Directory.
  • Click on the Sources tab then Find Sources
  • In "publication type" box click the + sign under "news" to select newspapers
  • Search for the state e.g. tennessee in the search box
  • Search results, select sources you want and hit OK-Continue
  • The source(s) will now be added to your search
  • You can search segments (headline, byline, section, etc.) using the "Add Section Search" box
    you must add search terms e.g. Obama jobs
  • Your search will appear in the "Search Terms" box at the top; hit the Search key to start your search

Use the "download" button to choose different formats for articles including pdf.

Media Literacy Librarian

Michelle Brannen's picture
Michelle Brannen
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-6396 (studio)
(865) 946-2102 (office)
Website