Journalism and Electronia Media:Federal Legislation

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

Periodicals

CQ Weekly. Full text 1983-
Summarizes important congressional and political activities each week. Provides nonpartisan legislative news and analysis on the activities of the U.S. Congress.

Congressional Digest
. Online. (monthly)
Print: Stacks JK1.C65, 1922-current
Articles with pro and con arguments of legislation before Congress.

National Journal Online. (weekly).
Print: Stacks JK1.N28, 1972-2009
Articles cover politics and publc policy issues.

News

Search and access the full text of the publications below in LexisNexis Congressional. Select "Political News."

  • The Hill (website)
    A newspaper for and about the U.S. Congress.

  • Roll Call (website)
    A semi-weekly newspaper covering congressional news and policy briefings.

  • Politics in Congress (website)
    Congressional politics coverage from the Washington Post.

  • Congress.org
    Provides nonpartisan information about public policy issues.

Databases

  • Thomas. Library of Congress. Coverage varies. Some access back to 1973.
    Provides full text of legislation, bills, reports and the Congressional Record. Search by keyword, phrase, subject, number, sponsor or committee.

  • ProQuest Congressional 1789-present.
    A comprehensive current and historical online resource to information from and about the U.S. Congress. The database also includes: profiles, voting records, campaign finance, and financial disclosure data for members of Congress, federal regulations, the U.S. Code, and commentary from the Washington Post. All congressional publications may be searched in the database.

  • FDsys - U.S. Government Printing Office's Federal Digital System.  Coverage varies.
    Provides free access to the official, published versions of legislative documents and other materials produced by the Federal Government. Included are:
    Bills and Resolutions, 1983-;
    Congressional Record, 1994-
    Committee reports, and House and Senate documents, 1995-
    Selected committee prints, 1997-
    Congressional committee hearings, 1995/96- 
    Search using Boolean operators or phrase search with quotation marks. Documents are available in text and PDF formats.

  • HeinOnline. Coverage varies. Good for finding retrospective materials.
    A legal research database with collections from all branches of government, including U.S. Congressional Documents, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, World Trials, Session Laws and Codes. Collections include specific legal titles such as the U.S. Statutes at Large; Federal Register;and the United States Code. Subject Collections include: Federal Agency Documents, Decisions and Appeals;U.S. Presidential Library; and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.

  • LexisNexis Academic Coverage varies.
    Use to find: Federal & State statutory laws and regulations;Federal & State Court cases.
     
    Select the 'U.S.legal' tab in the left toolbar.

For more information on Federal Legislation see research guide at: http://libguides.utk.edu/uslegs

Media Literacy Librarian