Journalism and Electronia Media:Newspapers

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

U.S. Newspaper Databases

  • Factiva Coverage varies according to newspaper.
    Includes a collection of full text national and international newspapers. Also includes full text access to newswires and transcripts. Click logoff to end your session.
     
  • LexisNexis Academic Coverage varies.
    Provides full-text access to national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
    Source List for Major Papers
    Source List for Ethnic News
    Source List for News Wires
     
  • Proquest Digital Microfilm 2008-current
    The ProQuest Digital Microfilm system is a browser based system that provides a simple and convenient way to access microfilm content in  digital format. Must be viewed using Internet Explorer. Only allows searching by issue date. Click SELECT to choose title. Titles include:
    Barron's - weekly newspaper covering U.S. financial information, market developments, and relevant statistics.
    Chicago Tribune
    Los Angeles Times - Library Edition
    New York Times - Late Edition (East Coast)
    Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition
    Washington Post - Final Edition
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    Search and access historical newspaper content from titles including The New York Times (1851-2006), Washington Post (1877-1893), Wall Street Journal (1889-1992),The Guardian, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and many more. Most titles are covered from the beginning of publication, with articles available to download as PDFs. Click on Select Multiple databases to select one or more newspapers.
  • National Newspaper Index 1977+
    Index to 5 major newspapers (New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and the Washington Post). One of the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) databases.
  • Ethnic Newswatch
    Full text national and international news articles of special interest to the ethnic, minority and native populations of the United States. In English and Spanish. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

UT Libraries Newspaper Databases

World News Online

The Abyz News Links
One of the largest and detailed news sources on the net. Links to over 16,500 newspapers and other news sources from around the world.

The BBC World Service
Audio feeds from all over the world. Available in a number of languages.

CNNWorld
Top global stories. Regional news, in-depth analysis of major events, and election watch. Updated several times a day.

Foreign Press Center Briefings
The U.S. Department of State produces daily briefings for the foreign press.

Worldwide Newspapers
Listing of newspapers from all over the world.

Online Newspapers.com
List by country of more than 5000 newspapers.

Finding Newspapers

The Library provides access to contemporary and historical newspapers available in a number of formats.

  • current print subscriptions for national, state, local & international newspapers - Location:Reference Room
  • backfiles on microfilm located in Storage (must use OneSearch to request)
  • databases for current and historical backfiles. Mostly national titles and a few TN titles

Finding out if we have print or electronic access to a specific newspaper can be challenging.
 

1. Begin with the One Search
     Most likely we have microfilm or current print for TN and National newspapers.
     Search by the title of the newspaper adding the word newspaper to the name
           e.g. New York Times newspaper;  Knoxville News Sentinel newspaper
     Or search by Subject -- e.g newspaper-tennessee-(name of city or state)

2. Search the Newspaper Databases
    
America's News (NewsBank) - with Tennessee Newspapers subset
    National Newspaper Index 1977+
    If it is a TN news clip you are looking for then you should check the Newsbank TN
    database
to see if your paper is included.

US Newspaper Links (Tennessee)

Local News
Daily Beacon

Contains the current issue of the UT student newspaper, as well as past issues from Summer 1994 to present. You can select a particular issue of the paper to browse, but keyword searching is not available.

Knoxville Mercury
Knoxville's weekly alternative newspaper. Its a must read to know what's really happening in the city.

Knoxville News Sentinel
Includes selected feature stories,editorials, and sports news as well as classified ads and information on local businesses.

Newspaper guide

Media Literacy Librarian

Michelle Brannen's picture
Michelle Brannen
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-6396 (studio)
(865) 946-2102 (office)
Website

International Databases

The University of Tennessee Libraries subscribes to databases and  online services that provide access to international newspapers.

  • AllAfrica.com
  • Factiva
    From Dow Jones and Reuters, a collection of 8000+ full text magazines and newspapers plus corporate and stock market data. Limit of 3 simultaneous users. Click logoff to end your sessio
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. Includes national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
  • NewsBank Special Reports
    Unique coverage of local,regional, and international news articles, and other useful content grouped for convenience under specific topics and themes.
  • Ethnic Newswatch
    Full text includes international news articles related to ethnic and minority populations. In English and Spanish. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.