Journalism and Electronia Media:Freedom of Speech/Censorship

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier

    Click on "Advanced Search" and type in "freedom of speech", "First Amendment," or "censorship" to find full-text articles. For the most targeted results, limit your search term to "SU Subject" in the drop-down box. Click on "Images" to find photographs related to this topic.

  • PAIS

    Abstracts of articles, books and government documents on all public and political issues worldwide. Click on FindText to link to the electronic full text or the Libraries' call number, if available here.

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

    Both abstracts of articles and links to web sites are provided. Type "de=freedom of speech" for best results. Click on FindText for electronic full text or the Libraries' call number, if available here.

Web Sites

  • Communicating Common Ground

    an initiative to combat hate speech, from the California State University (Northridge) Department of Communication Studies.

  • Cybercrime

    U.S. Dept. of Justice site including "Dispelling the Myths about the USA Patriot Act" and information on cyberethics, as well as web links, news, updates, Congressional testimony, and speeches on cybercrime.

  • Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)

    A research center focusing on privacy and first amendment issues. Publisher of an award-winning newsletter (EPIC Alert), books and reports.

  • Free Expression Policy Project

    analysis of and news on issues such as art, censorship, history of censorship, internet speech, media violence, and more.

  • Free Speech Movement Digital Archive

    a bibliography, documents from the 1960's, and online audio/video resources on the famous student protests at the University of California, Berkeley.

  • Index on Censorship

    a highly acclaimed British site for news on free speech, with an index by country.

  • John Seigenthaler Chair of Excellence in First Amendment Studies

    sponsors programs on free press and free speech for the MTSU College of Mass Communication.

  • Privacy & Civil Liberties

    from the Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility, this site includes sections on news, government, consumer privacy, events, laws, and digital privacy.

  • Society of Professional Journalists - Open Doors

    Overview of finding government records through the Freedom of information (FOI) Act, including its history and sections on the FOI and the courts, privacy, and your life.

  • Reference

  • Censored: The Top 25 Censored Stories

    Ref. and stacks PN4888.P6T67 2004 - award-winning annual collection of significant news stories neglected by the major media. Includes nine chapters on censorship topics, Tom Tomorrow cartoons, index and guides to independent publications and organizations. Some earlier volumes in stacks.

  • Censorship

    Ref. Z658.U5C38 1997 (3 vols.) - almost 1,000 essays on people, issues, individual works that were censored, organizations, laws, events and court cases.

  • Censorship: A World Encyclopedia

    Ref. Z658.W675C38 2001 (4 vols.) - Includes articles on censorship in individual countries and religions, concepts, controversial topics, and particular media; index in Vol. 4.

  • Free Expression and the American Public: A Survey Commemorating the 200th Anniversary of the First Amendment

    Ref. JC599.U5W95 1991 - six informative chapters plus detailed tables on our opinions regarding free speech.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

    Ref. H41.I58 2001 - Includes articles on Censorship and Secrecy, Censorship and Transgressive Art, Censorship in Research and Scholarship, and Freedom of the Press, all with recent bibliographies.

  • Media Literacy Librarian

    Michelle Brannen's picture
    Michelle Brannen
    Contact:
    1015 Volunteer Blvd.
    Knoxville, TN 37996
    (865) 974-6396 (studio)
    (865) 946-2102 (office)
    Website

    Organizations