Journalism and Electronia Media:Broadcast Transcripts

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

Sources & Sites

AJR News Link:
From American Journalism Review. Has excellent selection of radio and television network and station sites, both U.S. and non U.S.

Zap2it:
A guide to onscreen TV, Movies, Internet. Has weekly Nielsen ratings.

Media Covereage & Analysis

  • News Coverage Index
    Created by the Project for Excellence, this project examines four dozen news outlets in real time to determine what is being covered and what is not. Findings are released in a weekly report.
  • Media Indexes
    From the Pew Research Center, this site lists various media indexes including news indexes, talk show indexes, etc.
  • Technorati
    Provides analysis of coverage in the blogosphere.

Media Literacy Librarian

Michelle Brannen's picture
Michelle Brannen
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-6396 (studio)
(865) 946-2102 (office)
Website

News Transcripts

News transcripts come from various sources including television news programs, radio broadcasts and press releases.

LexisNexis Academic
Includes news transcripts from radio and TV. 
Easy Search/Search the News - Under "Source Type" select "Broadcast Transcripts" . 
OR Select the "News" blue tab on the left; select "TV & Radio Transcripts"; select "All transcripts" or a specific category (e.g., NBC Transcripts).
For more information see: LexisNexis YouTube Tutorial on Finding Broadcast Transcripts 

Federal News Service (included in LexisNexis Academic, 1988-current, search "all transcripts" or use Find Source and search by source name to find FNS)
Contains speeches, press and news conferences, government briefings, National Press Club, transcripts of Congressional hearings, and other special events.

Points of View Reference Center
Select a category or topic. Includes news transcripts when applicable.

Other Sources for transcripts include:

Check the web site for the show or network.
The PBS Website has transcripts from the 1970s - current.
C-SPAN has a searchable video library that includes all of its programming dating to 1987.

Vanderbilt University's Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news, providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The Library does not subscribe but you can search the site by keyword and date, then use  Interlibrary Services to request broadcasts. Specify the Vanderbilt Television News Archive as the source.

YouTube - articles, segments or reports may be posted.

Commercial Vendors (The Library does not subscribe to these services)

Video Monitoring Services of America - provides search and monitoring services for all U.S. TV and top radio markets.

Fulltext Sources Online - a directory of newspapers, magazines, newsletters and transcripts.

Transcripts (Microfiche)

ABC News: Public Affairs Broadcasts 1986 - 1991- DocMic PN4888.T4A34, Hoskins Storage Reading Room. 
This set consists of written transcripts of ABC television news broadcasts. A printed guide, ABC News Index, (PN4888.T4A34) indexes the above programs by subject and names of personalities being interviewed. The microfiche are filed by the title of the specific program in the microfiche cabinets.

CBS News Broadcasts
. 1975-1986. PN4888.T4 C642 - DocMic microfiche, Hoskins Storage Reading Room. 
A printed index, CBS News Index, (DocMic PN4888.T4C64a) indexes the above programs by subject and names.

Foreign Translation services

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996 - UT Libraries Database
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Publications 1996-2004 - CD-ROM in Hoskins Storage Reading Room

PAIS International and PAIS Archive 1915+ -Includes some foreign newspaper and wire service transcripts that can be searched by subject.