Journalism and Electronia Media:Web Resources

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

Web Sites

Citizen Media Law Project
A research center providing legal resources for citizen media. From Harvard University’s Berkman Center for Internet & Society.

Communications Consortium Media Center
"A public interest media center dedicated to helping nonprofit organizations use media and other technologies".

Encyclopedia of Television
Museum of Broadcast Communications

Investigative Reporters and Editors 
A nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting.

Media Code of Ethics
Radio Television Digital News Association

News Frontier Database - Columbia Journalism Review
"A searchable, living, ongoing documentation of digital news outlets across the country..."

Poynter Online
The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and teachers of journalists. Interesting topic areas covered on the webpage.

Reporter.org
Hosts sites for and includes information for a number of journalistic organizations; a list of reporting resources; and a list of journalism publications. Check out the Beat Source Guide, a section of the site that allows you to search the different beats available in the Reporter.org resource center.

Directories

Directory of Journalism Resources
This site comes from the Unviersity of Iowa and includes on-line news sources, journalism magazines,and style guides, as well as links that focus on cyberjournalism, gender and race in the industry, and jobs.

Facts About Newspapers
Statistics on many aspects of United States and Canadian newspaper publishing, including readership demographics, advertising, and circulation.

Freedom Forum:
This site is sponsored by the Freedom Forum, a non-partisan foundation dedicated to freedom of speech and the First Amendment.

Finding Data on the Internet: A Journalist's Guide
Includes a section on understanding statistics. Excellent listing of quality sites for getting facts and figures.

Journalist Toolbox: Online Research for News Reporters
This may be one of the best overall sites for Journalists. Sections on Elections, crime, people finders, interpreting data and much more. Very well organized.

The Media History Project
Promoting the Study of Media History from Petroglyphys to Pixels: Devoted to investigating the evolution of the various forms of media.

NationMaster
National statistics, excellent source for finding numbers (i.e. most educated)details on many of the countries of the world.

Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press
A good resource for free speech issues.

Reporter's Resource:
Geared to journalists needs. Includes writing tips,the reporter's site of the month, and a wide variety of useful sites for a working journalist.

The State of the American Newspaper
Explores the condition of the American Newspaper in an era of increased media competition and conglomeration.

Writing-World. Com
Variety of information on how to improve writing skills. Also has job opportunites.

Media Literacy Librarian

Michelle Brannen's picture
Michelle Brannen
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-6396 (studio)
(865) 946-2102 (office)
Website

Associations/Organizations

American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA)
"[T]he nation's leading organization of independent nonfiction writers. [M]embership consists of more than 1,100 outstanding freelance writers of magazine articles, trade books, and many other forms of nonfiction writing, each of whom has met ASJA's exacting standards of professional achievement.

National Press Club (NPC)
"The National Press Club is a private association of members of the journalism and public relations community." Site includes links and listings of events, news sources and resources for reporters.

Poynter Online
One of the most practical and useful sites for working journalists, student journalists, and journalism educators. Has a subject specific search engine.

The Society of Professional Journalists
Provides links and information for student journalists and young journalists, including information on jobs, awards, ethics, and conferences.