Journalism and Electronia Media:Reference Sources

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

The Encyclopedia of Journalism [electronic resource] Sage Reference Online, 2009.
Covers print, broadcast, and online journalism from the U.S. and international perspectives. Find entries by browsing through thematic categories in the Reader's Guide

Sage Reference Online - See other titles in Communication & Media Studies

Encyclopedia of American Journalism - Hodges Reference PN4855 .E53 2008 

Handbook of Journalism Studies - Hodges Stacks: PN4724 .H36 2009

History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia - Hodges Stacks P92.U5 H55 1998

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications - Hodges Stacks P87.5 .E532 2003

Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature- Hodges Stacks PN4731 .C3 2004

Telecommunications Law in the Internet Age - Hodges Stacks KF2761 .B54 2002

Directories

Bowker’s News Media Directory
2004-2009 Hodges Stacks PN4840.W67
Includes listings for media (newspaper, magazine, tv/radio) with advertising rates.

Willings Press Guide
Hodges Reference / PN4701.W54 current edition
Hoskins Storage / 1929-2010
"A guide to the press of the United Kingdom and to the principal publications of Europe, U.S.A., and the Gulf States

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
TK6540 .B852  
Latest Hodges Reference. 1994-2009 Hodges Stacks 
Geographic index of cities and their radio and T.V. stations, affiliations, and advertising rates. Includes brief profiles of audiences.

City Directories
Alphabetical directories of businesses, private citizens, householders, occupants of office buildings, streets. Includes buyers guide, classified business directory and numerical telephone directory.

Knoxville City Directory - Latest in Commons Reference F444.K5

Nashville South, Tennessee : Polk City Directory - Reference F444.N2A18 pt.2

Nashville North, Tennessee : Polk City. Reference F444.N2A18 pt. 1-

Encyclopedia of Associations (online in Gale Directory Library) Works best in Internet Explorer
A guide to more than 22,000 regional, national and international organizations.  HS17.G3 Stacks 1961-2009.
To search the title, select 'Advanced Search' and highlight the desired title.

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media  Online 2010-
1990-2010 in print Hodges PN4699.A94
Contains listings for radio and television stations, cable companies and print media. Entries provide address; phone, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses; key personnel, including feature editors; and much more. Includes U.S., Canadian, and international media.

Literary Market Place  Latest ed. Reference Room (Call number PN161.L5) Earlier eds. in Stacks and Storage.
A directory of the American book publishing industry. Includes book publishers, editorial services and agents, advertising, marketing and publicity, book manufacturing and sales, and distribution. .

Writer's Market   Latest ed.Reference Room (Call number PN161.W83). Earlier eds. in Stacks & Storage.
Lists book publishers and periodicals and their standards for manuscript submission. 

Media Literacy Librarian

Michelle Brannen's picture
Michelle Brannen
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-6396 (studio)
(865) 946-2102 (office)
Website