Journalism and Electronia Media:Current Events/Year-in-Review

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

Current Events/Hot Topics

CQ Researcher
Well researched balanced articles on important policy issues and topics written mostly by journalists. Articles contain good bibliographies.

Congressional Digest
Periodical featuring opposing sides of issues before Congress. Full text searchable in Academic Search Premier. (Print copies Stacks JK1.C6).

Congessional Quarterly Weekly Report
Details events in the U.S. political arena.

Editorials On File
Call number D410.E3 - Reproduces editorials from major U.S. Newspapers.

Encyclopedia Britannica Yearbook
Call number AE5.E364 - General summary of the past year's events and issues.

The Gallup Poll
Call number R5.M38 - Offers a summary of public opinion surveys.

McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
Call number Q121.M32 - A summary of current science & technology trends.

Time and Newsweek
Issue oriented magazines and good sources for current topics. Electronically available through Factiva and Academic Search Premier. Print is located in the Stacks (Time: Call number AP2.T37 and Newsweek: Call number AP2.N6772).

Brookings Institute
Private non-profit organization devoted to research, education, and publications in economics, government, foreign policy, and the social sciences in general.

NewsBank Special Reports  - Mouse over any Featured Report to see a description.
Reports focus on topics of current interest. They provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, and websites.  

Film and Television - News and Awards provides broad coverage of film and television from every corner of the globe, including news, events, discussions, trends and links to related Websites.

Rand Institution
Non-profit institution that deals with public policy issues. Website has hot topics section and full-text articles.

 

Year/Decade Review

American Decades - 1900-2009
Hodges Stacks: E169.12.A419 1994

Life: Our Century in Pictures - 1900-1999
Hodges Stacks: CB425.L44 1999
Chronicles the 20th century with a photo archive drawn from Life magazine.

The People's Chronology - ebook
Events by decade from prehistory to 2004.

Databases:

CQ Almanac Online 1945-  
Explore major policies enacted by decade. Click on decade at the top of page.

CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition 1972-current
Primary source documents produced each year covering current events around the world.

Gale Virtual Reference (UT Libraries)
Expand subject areas to see titles. Click on "Adavnced Search"
Search the publication title or browse title

Timelines

Oxford Reference Online - Timelines
Timelines of notable events in history. Search by theme or country.

Europa World Plus
Select the country, then chronology to see a listing of significant events and dates.

Media Literacy Librarian

Historic Documents

Historic Documents - Hodges Library E839.5.H57 - 1972-2008

CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition 1972+  
A collection of more than 2,500 primary sources covering current events around the world. Arranged by year and month.

Vital Speeches of the Day 1934+  Online & Hodges Stacks/Storage PN6121 .V52  
Text of speeches on a wide range of topics, mostly political. Arranged by year/issue. Search within periodical to find speeches.