Journalism and Electronia Media:Biographies

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

Reference Sources

Biography Index
Call number: CT 100.B5 - Quarterly index to biographical material in books and magazines. Arranged by author with index of professions at the end.

Current Biography Yearbook
Call number CT 100.C8 - Biographical sketches on people that have been/are in the news. Lists sources for further information.

Marquis Who'sWho On the Web   
Features profiles on the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Limited to 3 simultaneous users. Remember to LOG OFF.

For biographies of individuals before 1985 use any one of the following Marquis print titles below.
 
Who's Who
Call number CT 120.W5 - Annual biographical dictionary, primarily British, of prominent people in many fields.

Who's Who Among Black Americans
Call number CT 185.96.W52 - Biographical dictionary of notable black Americans. Includes a geographical and occupation index.

Who's Who in America
Call number CT 220.W43 - Biographical dictionary of notable people. A separate profession index is shelved with the set.

Who's Who in American Politics
Call number E176.W6424 - Biographical sketches and current addresses of people in national, state, and local government. A similar online title is Almanac of American Politics (JK271 .B343)

 

Biographical Information

Biography Databases
The Library provides selected databases that offer biographical information for artists, authors, notable persons from the United Kingdom, and more.

The Twentieth Century Biographical Dictionary of Notable Americans Online

Media Literacy Librarian

Michelle Brannen's picture
Michelle Brannen
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-6396 (studio)
(865) 946-2102 (office)
Website