Journalism and Electronia Media:Databases and Journals

This guide presents selected print, electronic, and Internet resources relevant for completing research in Journalism & Electronic Media at the UT Libraries.

Journalism Databases

Many articles are available online through the UT Libraries databases.  The databases listed below are most useful for journalism and electronic media subjects.

To find print and electronic journals to which the Libraries subscribes, search in one-search. To find a list, search by subject, with the terms: Journalism--Periodicals. Click the 'Find Items' button for individual holdings.

Communication & Mass Media Complete: Covers scholarly publications in the area of media and communications. Includes some newspaper and trade journal coverage.

Business Source Complete
Provides full text coverage to business and industry publications.

CQ Researcher 1923+
A collection of reports covering political and social issues, including on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

LexisNexis Academic
Provides online content from print and broadcast news sources, including media trade journals, transcripts and audio files for selected broadcasts.

Factiva
From Dow Jones and Reuters, a collection of full text magazines and newspapers. Factiva tends to be stronger on international news sources.
 
 
Sage Journals Online: "SAGE Publications publishes over 485 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals."

Other related databases are listed under Journalism and Mass Communications Databases  (through UT Libraries).

If you are researching other topics, see the SUBJECT DATABASES.

 

 

Media Coverage & Analysis

  • News Coverage Index
    Created by the Project for Excellence, this project examines four dozen news outlets in real time to determine what is being covered and what is not. Findings are released in a weekly report.
  • Talk Show Index
    From the Project for Excellence in Journalism, this site measures coverage of topics in opinion talk shows from 2007 to present. Reports are published weekly.
  • Technorati
    Provides analysis of coverage in the blogosphere.

Media Literacy Librarian

Michelle Brannen's picture
Michelle Brannen
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-6396 (studio)
(865) 946-2102 (office)
Website