Skip to main content

Advertising and Public Relations - a subject guide for The School of Advertising and Public Relations: Ads/Images/Awards/Videos

Resources for researching advertising, marketing, and the media.

Ads/Images

All these sites have image examples of historical advertising. Not all are free. Be sure to acknowledge the source of any image you use.

John H.Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History
Located at Duke University this adverstising and marketing site includes an image database,
Emergence of Advertising in America:1859-1920, which illustrates the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War.

Ad* Access
an image database of over 9,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canada from 1911-1955.

Ad Age Data Center  (Our library has a subscription.  To access it, click on Database from the UTK Library homepage.)   
Features profiles of top advertisers, media, and agencies.

AdForum
U.S. and International advertisements 1999-present. Access to the free services.

Adflip.com
Access the free services.

Advertising Archives
European collection spans the years from the mid 19th Century to the present day.

Vintage Ad Browser

Image Databases

UT Libraries - Image Databases

American Memory
Multi-media collection of primary source materials on advertising from the Library of Congress.

Awards

Clio Awards

    Information on the Annual Clio Awards. The archives can be 
    searched by advertiser, ad agency, credited people, and media type.

Best of 2003: Clio Awards

    Princeton, N.J.: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2003.

Videos

Advertising Videos in UT Libraries

Check the catalog under "advertising"

Limit to 'videos'

Associate Professor / Librarian for Haslam Business, Advertising, RHTM, Executive MBA programs

P. Judy Li, PhD's picture
P. Judy Li, PhD
Contact:
Phone: 865-974-0013
Judy's academic credentials (all from North America universities): PhD, MLIS, MBA (Entrep.), BA(Business Adm.).
Previously worked as a librarian at: research centers (county public library's Business/Law/Gov subject section, academic libraries' Business section, special libraries with companies in Telecommunication Industry and Finance Industry) - USA, Canada, HongKong (pre-1997 - British National Oversea)
Subjects:Business