It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advertising and Public Relations - a subject guide for The School of Advertising and Public Relations: Public Relations
Resources for researching advertising, marketing, and the media.
Public Relations Society of America Includes links to public relations resources, PRSA links, newspapers, magazines and broadcast outlets, corporate information and stock quotes, federal government and politics, and media sites.
PRWeek.Com Includes a searchable archive of editorials, news, industry research, and special reports.
A collection of selected scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Most titles do not include the most recent 3-5 years. For more current research, search one of our general or subject-specific databases. NOTE: During the current COVID-19 situation, JSTOR has opened access to additional journals and primary source collections beyond the ones we already subscribe. This additional access will be through June 30, 2021.
Advertising and Public Relations Research by Donald W. Jugenheimer; Samuel D. Bradley; Larry D. Kelley; Jerry C. Hudson
Publication Date: 2010-03-15
This comprehensive volume concentrates on the uses and applications of research in advertising and public relations situations. Although the authors cover the design and conduct of research in ample detail, their goal is to provide the information needed by practitioners to commission and apply research to their work problems in advertising and PR.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations by Robert L. Heath (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004-10-12
The Encyclopedia of Public Relations explores the evolution of the Public Relations field, with examples from history describing events, changing practices, and the key figures who developed and expanded the profession. This two-volume set is the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject and is a must-have for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism. The encyclopedia explores key challenges facing the profession of public relations and its practitioners, such as earning the trust and respect of critics and the general public. These volumes go into great depth about such ethical policies and challenges. The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) operates under a specific code of ethics--full details of which are included in an appendix.
The AMA Handbook of Public Relations by Robert L. Dilenschneider; Maria Bartiromo (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2010-02-17
Foreword by Maria Bartiromo Public relations was among the first industries to harness the power of the Internet. As a medium for corporate communications, branding, product information, and more, the Web’s value was readily apparent. But the Internet is a double-edged sword whose perils are every bit as important to control. The AMA Handbook of Public Relationsis written to help professionals merge their traditional and Web-based campaigns while protecting their clients, companies, and themselves against harmful attention. Based on in-depth interviews and cutting-edge research, the book combines proven PR strategies with up-to-the-minute Web savvy to help readers: • Master media relations • Manage rumors and crises • Adapt areas of specialization to the Internet • Work with trade publications • Leverage websites, blogs, podcasts, and social networking sites • Monitor the Web for positive and negative feedback • Allocate resources and establish budgets • Measure the impact of Internet strategies • And more. Designed for daily use in a changed and changing world, The AMA Handbook of Public Relationscovers everything today’s PR professional needs to know.
Public Relations by Robert L. Heath (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010-07-29
The SAGE Handbook of Public Relations offers a comprehensive and detailed examination of the field. It gives academics, practitioners and students a solid review of the status of the academic literature, stressing the role that public relations can play in building relationships between organizations, markets, audiences and publics. The Handbook is divided into five parts: * defining the field, seeking to explain the role public relations plays in society * examining the state of the practice by delving into the cutting-edge issues of management, ethics, gender, evaluation, public relations, education and media * challenging academics and practitioners to identify best practices that shape their daily activities * examining the fascinating and daunting challenges the new communication technology poses for scholars and practitioners * a global view of the theories in international public relations as well as the trends in practice that will shape the field in the coming years. No other book in public relations is as comprehensive in its authorship and coverage of academic research, theory and best practices. Global in scope, the book's contributors constitute an academic 'who's who' of the public relations discipline. The Handbook offers a definitive source of the best insights into the definition of the field of public relations, the practice and best practices. It analyzes the impact of new communication technologies and the global challenges of international public relations.