Communication Studies:Interpersonal Communication

Key resources for research in Communication Studies

Databases

  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    Key index for communication and media journals, books, and more. Some with full text. Includes references and citations which cite a given article.
     
  • Academic Search Premier
    Mulitdisplinary database with full text of 3,000+ publications. Some pdf files back to 1965.
     
  • PsycINFO (via ProQuest) 1800+
    This database from the American Psychological Association contains citiations to scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, etc. from psychology and related disciplines.
     
  • Business Source Complete   
     A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, trade publications and top management journals dating back as far as 1886 are included.
     
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly literature including articles and books.
     
  • Sociological Abstracts/Sociofile CSA  1952+
    Indexes the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines.

Background Information

SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS provide an overview of a range of topics in communication.  Browse any of the following for basic information to get started on a variety of topics. 

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information  Library Stacks P87.5.E53 2002 (3 vols.)
Articles, with illustrations and bibliographies, on information science and technology, literacy, interpersonal communication, and media topics. Subject Index included.

Encyclopedia of Human Relationships  2009 Online
"Presents up-to-the minute information about how people think, feel and act toward other people with whom they have relationships."

Encyclopedia of Social Networks   2011 Online
This "two-volume encyclopedia provides a thorough introduction to the wide-ranging, fast-developing field of social networking."

Handbooks

Handbooks are research oriented (presenting theories, methods, and research topics) or, practice oriented (presenting standards and best practices in the field). They are helpfiul for finding research ideas, presenting the current state of the discipline, and providing a bibliography of relevant books and articles. Sample titles are listed below.

Handbook of Family Communication / edited by Anita L. Vangelisti.
Hodges / Stacks (HQ519 .H36 2013)

Interpersonal Communication [electronic resource] / editors, Mark L. Knapp, John A. Daly.

APA Handbook of Interpersonal Communication / edited by David Matsumoto.
Hodges / Stacks: HM1166 .A65 2010

Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships [electronic resource] / edited by Anita L. Vangelisti and Daniel Perlman.

New Directions in Interpersonal Communication Research / edited by Sandi W. Smith, Steven R. Wilson.
Hodges / Stacks: BF637.C45 N45 2010 

The Interpersonal Communication Book / Joseph A. DeVito.
Hodges / Stacks: BF637.C45 D49 2009

Guide to Interpersonal Communication / Joann Baney.
Hodges / Stacks: P94.7 .B36 2004

SAGE Handbook of Conflict Communication: Integrating Theory, Research, and Practice  / editors, John G. Oetzel, Stella Ting-Toomey.
Hodges / Stacks HM1126 .S24 2013

SAGE Handbook of Gender and Communication / editors, Bonnie J. Dow, Julia T. Wood.
Hodges / Stacks P96.S48 S34 2006

Sage Handbook of Interpersonal Communication / edited by Mark L. Knapp, John A. Daly.
Hodges / Stacks: BF637.C45 I645 2011

Theories of Human Communication / Wadsworth/Thomson Learning, 7th ed.
Hodges / Stacks: P90 .L48 2002

Librarian

Robin Bedenbaugh's picture
Robin Bedenbaugh
Contact:
552B Hodges Library
rbedenbaugh@utk.edu
(865) 974-0430