In the Thesaurus, type Rhetoric under "Browse for," then click on the word Rhetoric to see the list of narrower and related terms. Choose as many as you need or click on the box under "Explode" to include all narrower terms. Then click on "Add" and finally, "Search."
Change the drop-down box to "Subject (SU)," then search any of these subject terms:Rhetoric; Rhetoric & Psychology; Rhetoric, Ancient; Rhetoric, Medieval; Rhetorical Theory.
Click on "Criticism & Reference" and type Rhetoric in the "Author/Subject(s)" box. Only those citations preceded by a page or camera icon link to electronic full text, but other sources may be available in print through the UT Online Catalog.
Click on Advanced Search and type Rhetoric; for best results, change the drop-down box to "Descriptors" (subjects). You may limit the "Subject Area" to "Arts & Humanities" or "Social Sciences" and limit by date as well. Results include web sites.
Search the same as in Communications & Mass Media Complete (above), but results are limited to language and literature journals and books.
You must use the UT Libraries web page to access full text articles
Articles on classic and early Christian texts (abstracts only).
Articles on rhetoric and writing, including book, CD, film and web site reviews; also links to web sites and other journals.
Award-winning journal of rhetoric and writing theories (1980-1997 articles).
Covers rhetoric and early Christianity; includes book reviews.
A refereed, multimedia journal on rhetoric, technology, and teaching. Includes book reviews.
Refereed articles on logic, philosophy of argumentation, and the nature of rhetoric.
Articles on rhetoric in all historical periods.
Includes a Burkean Parlor forum, essay and book reviews.
Articles on the theory and practice of rhetoric and their relationship with poetics, philosophy, religion, and law.
An ongoing inventory of publications searchable collection of rhetoric article citations.
Definitions of over 60 devices.
Classical rhetoric, online journals, and many other links.
Classical through Renaissance Rhetoric
Based on the 1954 translation by Roberts.
1995 translation by Tinkler.
Links to articles, book reviews, databases, images, and a discussion forum on this topic.
A prize-winning guide to classical and renaissance rhetoric.
Includes Renaissance and classical plays and many visual images.
Audio and video of speeches relating to terrorism since September 11, 2001.
Links to the latest presidential speeches, academic programs, books and articles, news resources, and more.
Rhetoric scholar Dr. andrew Cline's daily analysis and commentary on the 2004 presidential campaigns, with links to other academic weblogs and a multitude of media and political sites.
A "watchdog of manipulative political rhetoric," according to its parent Salon.com. This site is no longer being updated, however the topic archive is useful.
Part of the International Society for the History of Rhetoric, and publisher of Advances in the History of Rhetoric.
For students of rhetoric and composition theory.
Promotes the study of the theory of rhetoric and its relationships to other disciplines.
Interdisciplinary scholarly organization. Site includes information on rhetoric conferences, journals, awards, news, and resource links.