Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science

International Government and Politics

Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs 

Constitutions of Dependencies & Territories
Search or browse the text of over 170 dependencies and territories, as well as constitutional commentary and the federal constitutions that define the relationships between a state and its dependencies or territories

Constitutions of the Countries of the World
Search or browse the text (English language) of the current constitutions of 190 countries. Also includes historical commentary and related documents such as amendments and prior constitutions

Council on Foreign Relations
A well designed site with key elements for understanding foreign relations. Headings include background on the news, important speeches, articles, and op-ed pieces on current issues in international affairs and foreign policy

Country Studies/Area Handbook Series
A series of books sponsored by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Covers the social, economic, and political institutions of 91 countries

Foreign Government Resources on the Web
A rich collection of links to foreign government information. Comes from the University of California, Berkeley this site will lead you to country background, biographies, foreign policy, national symbols, laws and treaties, embassies, foreign news sources, and a variety of statistics

Foreign Policy Association
Weekly articles and non-partisan commentary on world news as it relates to U.S. Foreign Policy. Full text of great decisions

GlobalEDGE
Sponsored by Michigan State University, this site provides detailed insights into the history, culture, government, and economy of nearly 200 countries

Global Legal Information Network
International legal database with official full texts of published documents

Governments on the WWW
Comprehensive database of national government institutions on the World Wide Web

League of Nations Photo Archive
An archive of visual documents related to the development and history of this former international organization that was dedicated to the promotion of peace and security

Nationmaster.com
A numerical database that can create interactive charts and maps that rank countries in a number of topic areas. Provides the ability to customize 600 statistical variables. Some of the prepared rankings are: richest, most crime, most educated, most taxed etc.

United Nations
Searchable topics include peace and security, development, human rights, and international law

World Constitutions and International Treaties
Access to approximately 137 countries with links to other web sites that also index world constitutions

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
An award winning site with over 1500 annotated links. Includes a good link to world newspapers

International Organizations

Library of Congress International Organizations 

World Bank  - Includes World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor and Millennium Development Goals.

World Trade Organization (WTO) 

World Health Organization 

International Labour Organization  

World Policy Institute 

United Nations 

International Monetary Fund 

Agency for International Trade Information and Cooperation 

Global Policy Forum  - Includes NGO"s. ( non-governmental organizations)

North Atlantic Treaty Organization 

Subject Guide