Helpful Resources for Citing Materials
How does it work?
- First, go to https://zbib.org or click on the ZoteroBib icon above.
- Second, look for the resource. You can do this by typing in the title of the resource, copying and pasting in the URL, searching by the DOI, or the ISBN (if a book). If you can't find the title, you can manually enter the citation information.
- ZoteroBib will default to Modern Language Association format. Once you add your first citation, you can change to whatever citation style you need. Remember to check the accuracy of your citations.
- Need to create in-text citations? Do this by clicking the stacked rectangles. When you open this, ZoteroBib will create a mock in-text citation for you. Check to make sure you don't need to add additional information, such as page number, paragraph number, etc..
- Copy the bibliography into your document
*As you add resources to your bibliography, ZoteroBib will organize them alphabetically for you!
Judith Anderson Herbert Writing Center
The Judith Anderson Herbert Writing Center serves student writers in all disciplines of the UT academic community by offering free and individualized help throughout the writing process. Trained tutors read student writing and provide feedback in one-to-one conversations. Our goal is to help students think about and improve their written work from the brainstorming stage to final revisions. For fall 2021, tutors will be providing assistance in-person and online via Zoom and email. Tutors are available in Pendergrass Mondays and Thursdays from 2-4 pm, but are available in person at additional locations throughout the week.
Below, there is a downloadable flyer with the Writing Center's Spring 2022 operations.
Modern Language Association (MLA) Citation Style
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06
MLA Made Easy by
MLA Made Easy: Citation Basics for Beginners offers an effective way to introduce proper research citing to those who are new to research and the MLA style. Full of examples and practical tips, it provides teachers with everything they need to help even the most reluctant middle- and high school student researchers create accurate, complete citations in the MLA format. MLA Made Easy includes instructions and examples for citing all common sources, from reference books to websites, as well as online databases, magazines, interviews, and videos. Coverage is divided into three parts: how to create citations for the works cited page, parenthetical documentation, and research paper formatting. Based on the 2009 revision of the MLA Handbook, it offers clear, precise, and up-to-date guidelines for showing students in their formative research experiences the importance of correctly citing their sources.
ISBN: 9781586834098Publication Date: 2009-12-30
Cite Right, Third Edition by
Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. This edition includes updates reflecting the most recent editions of The Chicago Manual of Style and the MLA Handbook. With this book, students and researchers can move smoothly among styles with the confidence they are getting it right.
Call Number: PN171.F56 L55 2018ISBN: 9780226431109Publication Date: 2018-11-20
- Using MLA Format
From the MLA Style Center. Provides resources for getting started with MLA style. Includes a Works Cited Quick Guide, Digital Citation Tool, and more!
- MLA Style FAQ
Answers basic as well as more complex questions about the MLA Style Manual.
- Sample Papers in MLA Format
Showcases essays that won the 2019 MLA Student Paper Contest that provide excellent examples of the MLA paper formatting and style.
FAQs about Writing Support and Citing Resources
What do I do if I can't find all the information to fully cite a source?
When you are finding it difficult to identify all the information that you need for citing your source, there are a few different options available to you.
1. Chat with a member of the Pendergrass staff. Librarians are skilled at helping find key information often included in citations.
2. If you are in a database or record in OneSearch, look for the options to view the citation for the source. Many databases allow you to copy and paste the citation directly into your document.
How can I get support from the Judith Anderson Herbert Writing Center?
Due to the rise in COVID-19 cases, the Judith Anderson Herbert Writing Center will start the spring 2022 semester hosting online appointments for undergraduates only on Zoom. Students interested in setting up an appointment with the Writing Center can schedule an appointment on the Writing Center website (link opens in a new tab).