Get LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects you easily to the resources the UT Libraries' subscribes to. Below is a video tutorial that describes LibKey Nomad and provides directions for installation. Closed captioning is available. A full transcript can be accessed by opening the video in YouTube (link opens in a new window).
Get the LibKey Nomad browser extension on the Third Iron website (link opens in a new tab). LibKey Nomad is compatible for the following browsers:
- Google Chrome
- FireFox
- Microsoft Edge
- Brave
- Vivaldi
Getting Started
Here are a few databases to begin searching for animal science research. You may have to search different databases depending on your topic. These are a good starting point. Don't hesitate to reach out with questions about your research and using databases. Clicking the links will open new tabs.
- Credo ReferenceA collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks that serves as great source of background information on a variety of topics to start your research.
- PubMed
This link opens in a new window
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information. - Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. - Gale In Context: Opposing ViewpointsProvides overviews and pro/con essays on social issues.
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors.
Suggested Resources
- CABI Animal Health and Production CompendiumA comprehensive, encyclopedic resource for information on animal health and production
- Gale In Context: Opposing ViewpointsProvides overviews and pro/con essays on social issues.
Here is a selection of journals that focus on animal science to get you started. Clicking the links will open new tabs.
- Animal Feed, Science, and Technology
Publishes research on animal feeds and their feeding; includes papers on feed for ruminants and non-ruminants, including poultry, horses, companion animals and aquatic animals.
Research papers in Animal Production Science (continuing Australian Journal of Experimental Agriculture) focus on improving livestock and food production, and on the social and economic issues that influence primary producers. The journal is predominantly concerned with domesticated animals (beef cattle, dairy cows, sheep, pigs, goats and poultry); however, contributions on horses and wild animals may be published where relevant.
- Animal Reproduction Science
Publishes results from studies relating to reproduction and fertility in animals.
- Journal of Animal Science
Publishes research on animal production and fundamental aspects of genetics, nutrition, physiology, and preparation and utilization of animal products.