Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's History Materials at Special Collections

These resources highlight women represented in the collections of the Betsey B. Creekmore Special Collections and University Archives.

Digital Collections

an anna catherine wiley sketch of a sitting woman.

 

Anna Catherine Wiley Sketches Over 150 of east Tennesseean Anna Catherine Wiley’s works from early in her career including figure drawings, pencil sketches, and bookplate designs.

 

 


full color photograph of a woman weaver at work.

 

From Pi Beta Phi to Arrowmont Materials documenting the history and contemporary legacy of the Pi Beta Phi Settlement School in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, which ultimately became the Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts.

 


front cover of the Tennessee girl handbook with a woman's head illustrated in the center. All illustrations are done in black on an orange background.

 

Tennessee Girl Student Handbook This publication is the female student handbook published originally by Women’s Student Government Association (Associated Women Students) from 1930 to 1970.

 

 


front cover of a lady vol basketball media packet from 2010-11. Titled "Victory lane"

 

University of Tennessee Lady Volunteers Basketball Media Guides This collection shares the annually-published Lady Volunteers basketball media guides from 1979 to 2010. Featured are the years the team was led by Pat Summitt, who holds the record for the most all-time wins by a Division I college basketball coach.

 


Front cover of the 2000 Tennessee Cross Country Media guide, titled "starting the climb.." the team is captured jogging though a wooden area.

 

University of Tennessee Lady Volunteers Cross Country Media Guides The women’s cross country media guides from 1981 to 2008, during which time the team won the conference championship five times.

 

 


front cover of the lady volunteer softball media guide from 1997, titled "diamond dreams"

 

University of Tennessee Lady Volunteers Softball Media Guides Media guides for women’s softball, which first became a sport at UT Knoxville in 1996.

 

 


Front Cover of the Lady Volunteers Tennis Media Guide

 

University of Tennessee Lady Volunteers Tennis Media Guides This collection shares the Lady Volunteers tennis media guides from 1977 to 2011.

 

 

 


black and white photograph of Virginia P. Moore and a group of women outside sitting together.

 

Virginia P. Moore Collection This collection documents the career of Virginia P. Moore, Tennessee’s first home demonstration agent, as she worked to educate the young rural women of the state on all aspects of domestic life.