Research Guides: Business: International Business: Home/Getting Started

Key International Trade Resources

International business information is widely available from both government and private sources. The resources listed below will provide a quick start for research in this area. Use the tabs above for additional information in specific categories or browse the full list of business databases.

Global Edge
One of the best web gateways to international business information. From Michigan State University, it includes links to news reports, country background, trade resources, culture, etc.

IHS Markit Connect
Excellent resource for business and economic risk analysis for foreign nations. Also includes coverage of current events and analysis of economic, political, legal, tax, security, and operational conditions.
Users of keyboard navigation will not be able to fully access this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for assistance, or try an alternative database, Economist Intelligence Unit Viewpoint, which offers similar data through a more accessible interface.

The Journal of Commerce Reports (JOC) Reports
JOC Group Inc., owned by IHS Inc., is a provider of global intelligence for trade, transportation and logistics professionals. Its brands include The Journal of Commerce, PIERS: The Port Import/Export Reporting Service and a number of directory databases covering the international trade, railroad and trucking markets. The company also produces about 11 conferences and exhibitions serving international trade and maritime markets.
more...less...
Note: Hodges Library does not have PIERS database.
World Factbook
From the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, brief overviews of the nations of the world, summarizing their demographic, political, economic, and social status. A quick way to get very brief country data.