A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
AccessAnesthesiology from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content -– optimized for viewing on any device.

For a quick 10 minute overview of AccessAnesthesiology see: http://youtu.be/tXemx3spVKA?hd=1



Send feedback to Melanie Allen.

Trial runs from arch 22, 2018 – June 22, 2018.
New
AccessMedicine’s Case Files Collection from McGraw-Hill Education offers its best-selling Case Files content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
New
A free, open-access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics. AgEcon searches working papers, conference papers, and journal articles. Subfields indexed include: agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
New
Lists jobs in theater, dance, opera, symphonies, universities, arts councils, performing arts centers, etc. Restricted to students in the UT Theatre and Music departments.
Trial
The most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.



Send feedback to Anne Bridges


Trial runs from April 2, 2018 – June 2, 2018
Trial
The ccAdvisor is a collaborative effort between Choice and The Charleston Company to deliver a searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to academic databases, websites, and tools. Itself a database, ccAdvisor draws upon the traditions of objectivity and scholarly excellence that characterize both Choice and The Charleston Advisor to create the source for the evaluation and selection of digital resources for libraries.
Because it is a database, not simply an archive of reviews, the information in ccAdvisor will be continuously updated and remain current through round after round of product upgrades and successor versions of standing works.


Send feedback to Teresa Berry.

Trial runs from November 30, 2017 –June 30, 2018.
Trial
Founded by Garrett Morgan, inventor of the gas mask and traffic light. Contributors included noted journalists Charles H. Loeb and John Fuster. The newspaper is well known for its support of the Scottsboro trial defendants with letters, clothing, stamps, and donations to the defense fund.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges


Trial runs from April 2, 2018 - June 2, 2018.
Trial
Full text access to nursing content in books, journals, drug monographs, patient education, multimedia, procedures consult, Elsevier's clinical skills, nursing scales, Mosby's evidence-based nursing monographs, clinical updates, core measures, practices guidelines, and lab.

Send feedback to Melanie Allen

Trial runs from April 17, 2018 – July 14, 2018.
New
The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) is the largest corpus of English, and the only large and balanced corpus of American English. COCA, along with other corpora, offers unparalleled insight into variation in English. COCA contains more than 520 million words of text and it is equally divided among spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts.

After accessing COCA, patrons must create their own individual account using their UT email address (name@utk.edu) to have full access to COCA.
New
The Corpus of Historical American English (COHA) is the largest structured corpus of historical American English. COHA contains more than 400 million words of text from the 1810s-2000s.


After accessing COHA, patrons must create their own individual account using their UT email address (name@utk.edu) to have full access to COHA.
Trial
The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been published since 1981 and covers the work of more than thirty authors. The texts included in the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker range from early German writing to the works of major authors of the nineteenth century, including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background. Scholars can follow the political and intellectual debates at the heart of Europe in the nineteenth century, for example, by reviewing texts relating to the theory of the state and the church or the theory and history of war. The Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker was completed in 2004.

Please send feedback to Margaret Casado
Trial runs from October 16, 2017 - December 15, 2017
New
DRAMeXchange conducts research on DRAM and NAND Flash. The DRAMeXchange team covers spot prices, market trends, capital expenditure, capacity trends, PC industry status updates, and more. The team also analyzes shipment data and provides market intelligence for smart devices. DRAMeXchange offers accurate insights on worldwide demands for smart devices as well as a clear overview of the market.
Trial
Education Magazine Archive provides access to the full-digitized backfiles of 26 major magazines and trade publications in the field of education, dating from the early 20th century through to the 21st.
In addition to its core relevance to research in the history of education, this newly-accessible content will open up fresh opportunities for research in numerous other fields, including social history, childhood studies, psychology, sociology, and politics.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
New
Gleeditions: Guided Literary E-text Editions. Interactive, digital editions of great world literature,
annotated for seven literary elements and illuminated by concise, well-illustrated historical context. Also featured on the site is a video library of premium clips. Including dramatic adaptations and readings of great literary works, it covers the site’s e-texts and extends beyond them to other acclaimed literary titles.

1.To use any title, just go to the Collections and Titles page (link in top toolbar).
2. Find the title of your choice on this page and click to use.
3. Or, to select from a list of all titles, use the Index of All Titles on that same page.
4. To use personal features (e.g. Save a note), Sign Up on the site (top toolbar) at school.
This one-time sign up, on the database on campus, also allows a user to access UTK Gleeditions from home.

New
An open-access database to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide. Brings together peer-reviewed scientific information on all aspects of invasive species, both plant and animal. Includes: datasheets, maps, article abstracts and some full text articles.
Trial
Jacoby Online is one of the most authoritative resources for the study of fragmentary ancient Greek historians. It includes five bundled products: 1. Felix Jacoby’s seminal Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker: Parts I-III (complete) 2. Brill’s New Jacoby (BNJ), a thoroughly revised English edition of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker: Parts I-III (nearly complete, estimated date of completion: 2019) 3. Brill’s New Jacoby – Second Edition (BNJ2), a revised edition of Brill’s New Jacoby (BNJ), now with apparatus criticus, as well as updated bibliographies and revised commentaries (launched in 2016; estimated date of completion: 2026) 4. Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker Part IV: Biography and Antiquarian Literature (FGrH IV), a continuation of Felix Jacoby’s work including original Greek texts with translations and commentaries (estimated date of completion: 2027) 5. Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker Part V: Geography (FGrH V), a continuation of Felix Jacoby’s work including original Greek texts with translations and commentary (estimated date of completion: 2020) . Jacoby Online is updated twice a year.


Please send feedback to Molly Royse.


Trial runs from March 27, 2018 - June 25, 2018.
New
Latin American News Digest (LAND) is a weekly online aggregator of Latin American news media, featuring condensed versions of stories written in English, but with links to all the original articles and opinion pieces in Spanish, Portuguese, and a few in English. the Digest provides a useful conduit to Latin American journalism, amplifying the news produced in Latin America by Latin Americans. The weekly aggregation links to 85-120 pieces from the 100 plus media sources tracked in nineteen countries. LAND strikes a balance between following events in the larger, more populous regions and the smaller, more rural areas, and tracks big stories and small ones with topics in economics, politics, arts and culture, society, environment, inter-American issues, and much more.
Trial
The oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.


Send feedback to Anne Bridges


Trial runs from April 2, 2018 – June 2, 2018
Trial
First-time users must create a user profile to use Mango. Choose "sign up" and then choose a language to get to the profile set-up area. A user profile allows you to keep track of your progress and test results.

Mango Languages is an online language learning resource that covers over 70 languages. Courses are accessible from a web browser or an app.

Please click here to provide your feedback on this database. We greatly value your input!

Trial runs from March 5, 2018-June 5, 2018.
Trial
Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century.

The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).


Please send feedback to Anne Bridges.


Trial runs from January 9, 2018-April 8, 2018.
New
(Formerly LexisNexis Academic) Provides content from US and international magazines, journals, newspapers, television and radio broadcasts dating back mostly from the 1990s with some content from the 1970s. Also includes legal research sources and business information for US and international companies.
Trial
The only black newspaper to provide on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial, and was one of the best researched and well written black newspapers of its time.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from April 2, 2018 – June 2, 2018.
Trial
The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from April 2, 2018 – June 2, 2018.
Trial
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges.

Trial runs from April 2, 2018 – June 2, 2018.
New
This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. It combines continuous runs of regional newspapers, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. Composed of primary source documents that encompass the buildup to and evolution of the war. ProQuest Civil War Era focuses on the entire era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War--enabling researchers to investigate not just the battles, but also the rising tensions that led the country to war.

Access provided by the Tennessee State Library Archive.
New
A bibliographic research database covering topics on the social, political and economic relations between race and ethnicity. Contains bibliographic records covering areas relating to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
Trial
The Rand Daily Mail, published daily in Johannesburg, is a critically important title that pioneered popular journalism in South Africa. It is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall. Its archives are rich with insight into events related to South Africa’s struggle for freedom and democracy. Rand Daily Mail continued to be popular among progressive readers until it closed in 1985.


Send feedback to Anne Bridges.


Trial runs from March 6, 2018 - June 6, 2018.
New
A global collection of business and management case studies from a variety of organizations and universities.
New
Contains articles, data, reports, and opinion pieces on business, economics, and management issues.
New
Peer-reviewed case studies that examine the process of doing research.
New
A bank of practice datasets and instructional guides.
New
Learn about research methods and statistics through this video collection of tutorials, case studies, expert interviews, and more,
New
Contains tutorials, documentaries, practitioner footage, and interviews.
New
Includes documentaries, interviews, and tutorials on counseling and psychotherapy. Topics include research methods, theory, skills, and professional issues.
New
Covers all branches of the criminal justice system. Includes interviews, documentaries, tutorials, and case studies.
New
Interviews, documentaries, tutorials, and commentaries on the discipline of education. Especially focused on theory and how to apply it in practice.
New
A collection of interviews, documentaries, tutorials, and cases discussing media, communication and cultural studies.
New
Interviews, documentaries, commentary, and speeches relating to politics and international relations.
New
Commentaries, documentaries, interviews, and discussions on the field of psychology.
New
Practice videos, tutorials, case studies, and interviews covering the discipline of sociology research and policy.
New
The Vertical Flight Library includes downloadable papers from nearly all Forum Proceedings from 1943 to today, as well as papers from nearly 100 Technical Specialists' Meetings and 60+ years of Vertiflite magazine.


NOTE: To view full-text -- add items to shopping cart, use the checkout button, NO PAYMENT IS REQUIRED – downloadable content will have $0 pricing. Click complete order, download file using document PDF link.
New
VetCompanion is an evidence-based, veterinary point-of-care resource designed to help veterinarians and veterinary nurses and technicians use the most current clinical information available to make the best decisions for their clients and patients and provide high quality care.
Trial
World Politics Review includes multiple areas of study, with thousands of articles in its archives and more than 75,000 words of original content produced each month. This robust and authoritative database covers topics of key relevance to foreign policy, international politics and foreign affairs.


Send feedback to Kris Bronstad


Trial runs from April 2, 2018 – June 2, 2018.
Loading...
Loading...

About E-Resources