A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980.
These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies, and first-hand accounts of events give unprecedented access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation.



Please send feedback to Anne Bridges abridges@utk.edu

Trial runs from September 13, 2017-December 13, 2017.
New
Lists jobs in theater, dance, opera, symphonies, universities, arts councils, performing arts centers, etc. Restricted to students in the UT Theatre and Music departments.
Trial
Church Missionary Society Periodicals features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009. Available in two modules.

Module 1 of Church Missionary Society Periodicals features publications from the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society between 1804 and 2009. With publications ranging in period, style and focus, this resource aims to offer a global view of missionary activity across three centuries and to facilitate research within a vast range of disciplines.

Module 2 focuses on the publications of CMS medical mission auxiliaries, the work of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society among women in Asia and the Middle East, newsletters from native churches and student missions in China and Japan, and 'home' material including periodicals aimed specifically at women and children subscribers. Articles, often in the form of letters authored by missionaries abroad, are enhanced by detailed illustrations and photographs of their surroundings, the mission community and the people among whom they worked.



Send feedback to Anne Bridges abridges@utk.edu


Trial runs from September 13, 2017 - December 13, 2017.
Trial
ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. In one convenient location, the database will quickly identify and connect you to reliable information from multiple sources in your field, including journal articles and books, along with access to profiles of researchers working in this area.

Trial runs from August 7, 2017 - November 6, 2017.

Please send feedback to Melanie Allen melanie-allen@utk.edu.
Trial
Confidential Print: Africa provides scholars with unprecedented electronic access to the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This important new resource will provide researchers with a searchable collection of scores of official documents covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonization of Africa.


Please send feedback to Anne Bridges abridges@utk.edu

Trial runs from September 13, 2017 - December 13, 2017.
New
The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) is the largest corpus of English, and the only large and balanced corpus of American English. COCA, along with other corpora, offers unparalleled insight into variation in English. COCA contains more than 520 million words of text and it is equally divided among spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts.

After accessing COCA, patrons must create their own individual account using their UT email address (name@utk.edu) to have full access to COCA.
New
The Corpus of Historical American English (COHA) is the largest structured corpus of historical American English. COHA contains more than 400 million words of text from the 1810s-2000s.


After accessing COHA, patrons must create their own individual account using their UT email address (name@utk.edu) to have full access to COHA.
Trial
The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been published since 1981 and covers the work of more than thirty authors. The texts included in the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker range from early German writing to the works of major authors of the nineteenth century, including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background. Scholars can follow the political and intellectual debates at the heart of Europe in the nineteenth century, for example, by reviewing texts relating to the theory of the state and the church or the theory and history of war. The Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker was completed in 2004.

Please send feedback to Margaret Casado
Trial runs from October 16, 2017 - December 15, 2017
Trial
EMarketer provides insights and trends related to digital marketing, media and commerce. Within the database, analysts, forecasters, and researchers publish industry reports, forecasts, comparative estimates, charts, articles, interviews, case studies, web conferencing and videos. The company curates, compares, and contextualizes information from global sources to provide macro-level understanding of digital trends related to advertising, marketing, media and commerce.

Trial runs from September 27, 2017 – October 27, 2017.

Send feedback to Judy Li JudyLi@utk.edu
Trial
Gale Interactive: Chemistry covers the topic in depth and is aligned to the scope and sequence of introductory college classes, including an interactive periodic table, reactions, and chemical processes. Engaging, interactive models bring science to life, allowing students to better visualize and understand concepts in chemistry, supporting university coursework. Students and instructors can manipulate and explore the periodic table, molecules, and other 3D models that are paired with reference and periodical content for further understanding.

Trial runs from August 8, 2017 - November 7, 2017.

Please send feedback to Teresa Berry tberry0@utk.edu
Trial
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.
Appropriate for students in 1st and 2nd-year Human Anatomy college courses.
.

Trial runs from August 8, 2017 – November 7, 2017

Please send feedback to Melanie Allen melanie-allen@utk.edu
Trial
The Health Policy Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of health policy and related issues offering cover-to-cover content from more than 300 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with health policy and closely aligned topics. This includes complete coverage of more than 250 full-text titles. The database also offers tens of thousands of additional highly relevant articles, selected from thousands of industry publications.

Trial runs from August 9, 2017 – November 7, 2017.

Please send feedback to Melanie Allen melanie-allen@utk.edu.
Trial
InnovationQ Plus is a new discovery and analytics platform combining deep engineering knowledge from the library of IEEE content with IP.com’s global patent and non-patent literature into a single, integrated solution that unlocks critical business information contained in technical documents to accelerate innovation, discovery of key insights, and time to market.


After you log in, we recommend you select "Knowledge Base" from the user icon popover menu located in the upper right hand corner or click the link to visit the Knowledge Base page. Here you will find a Quick Start Guide which provides an overview of the Manage and Discover sections of InnovationQ Plus.


This trial is available from October 2, 2017 until November 2, 2017. Free, virtual demo sessions will be held during the trial period. Please feel free to attend any of the remaining sessions:

Thursday, October 19 at 3:30pm ET. Please enter the session here and use the access code: 676-296-197.

Trial runs from October 2, 2017 - November 2, 2017.

Please send feedback to Jeanine Williams
New
Latin American News Digest (LAND) is a weekly online aggregator of Latin American news media, featuring condensed versions of stories written in English, but with links to all the original articles and opinion pieces in Spanish, Portuguese, and a few in English. the Digest provides a useful conduit to Latin American journalism, amplifying the news produced in Latin America by Latin Americans. The weekly aggregation links to 85-120 pieces from the 100 plus media sources tracked in nineteen countries. LAND strikes a balance between following events in the larger, more populous regions and the smaller, more rural areas, and tracks big stories and small ones with topics in economics, politics, arts and culture, society, environment, inter-American issues, and much more.
Trial
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive, 1554-2007 showcases a diverse range of material from the archive of the Stationers' Company archive including:
• Constitutional Records
• Court Records
• Membership Records
• Financial Records
• Trade Records
• General Administrative Records
• Charities and Property Records

The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars. A vast and unique collection of primary source documents, this collection is widely regarded as one of the most important primary sources for studying the history of the book as well as publishing history, the history of copyright and the workings of an early London Livery Company.

Please send feedback to Chris Caldwell ccaldwell@utk.edu.

Trial runs from September 13, 2017 – December 13, 2017.
Trial
Including material from the Crimean, American Civil War and the First World War, researchers can follow the development of medical equipment and methods across continents, including how governments and medical organizations learnt from each other’s experience (or failed to do so). Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.

Please send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from October 11, 2017 - January 11, 2018.
Trial
Nano provides indexed and structured information on nanomaterials and nanodevices. Access easily searchable nanoscience data, synthesis methods and literature. Combines the key features of a database and an Abstracting & Indexing tool.

Trial ends September 30, 2017.

Please send feedback to Jeanine Wiliamsonjwilliamson@utk.edu.
Trial
*BETA* trial of new Newsbank Access World News platform.

This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.

Share Feedback

Trial runs from October 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017.
New
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
New
This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. It combines continuous runs of regional newspapers, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. Composed of primary source documents that encompass the buildup to and evolution of the war. ProQuest Civil War Era focuses on the entire era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War--enabling researchers to investigate not just the battles, but also the rising tensions that led the country to war.

Access provided by the Tennessee State Library Archive.
New
A bibliographic research database covering topics on the social, political and economic relations between race and ethnicity. Contains bibliographic records covering areas relating to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
Trial
Public debates surrounding immigration policy, climate change, international relations, and constitutional and human rights are currently at the forefront of our national discourse. Critical reasoning, supported through academic research, is needed.

As a result, De Gruyter, along with our partner presses, is making freely available books and journal articles across nine topical areas for all students and faculty. Broadening access to this scholarship enables more people to address these issues in an informed manner: it helps us combat false news sources, to consider the nature of truth and ethics, and to understand the struggles of all members of society.

Topical categories: Constitutional History -- Dissent, Truth and Ethics -- Environmental Studies -- Gender Studies -- Geo-Politics --Human Rights -- Immigration & Urbanism -- Islamic Studies -- Leadership.



Trial runs from July 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017.


Please send feedback to Molly Royse mroyse@utk.edu.
Trial
Developed in partnership with leading academics and practitioners, the SAGE Video Collection in Business & Management has over 140 hours of curated content. Designed to support teaching, learning and research, the collection caters to different learning styles with exclusive, customizable video content that brings the highest levels of academic credibility, a wide diversity of teaching perspectives and an international representation to a visual format. The collection includes:
- tutorials
- documentaries
- research by leading experts
- practitioner perspectives across the entire discipline.


Send feedback to Judy Li


Trial runs from September 14, 2017 - December 14, 2017.
Trial
SAGE Business Cases brings business to life—inspiring students, researchers, and practitioners to develop their own best practices and reach for professional success. This collection brings together cases selected from a variety of sources, including key university and association partnerships, to meet the needs of business faculty and students internationally.


Please send feedback to Judy Li


Trial runs from September 14, 2017 - December 14, 2017.
Trial
SAGE Business Researcher delivers in-depth, curriculum-oriented issues to launch student inquiry into vital issues in business, management, and economics. Written with immediacy and the rigor of the best explanatory journalism, each report provides deep, balanced, and authoritative coverage on the selected topic and key research, and points students to reliable resources for further inquiry.


Send feedback to Judy Li



Trial runs from September 14, 2017 – December 14, 2017.
Loading...
Loading...

About E-Resources