An extensive collection of amateur publications that were written, edited, and published primarily by young people, aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century, this one-of-a-kind archive features tens of thousands of issues, and includes editorials, original short fiction, essays, poetry, and more. It provides an abundance of resources for researchers looking to make connections with the era, and provides compelling insights into the ways teens and young adults viewed their hometowns, their country, and the world around them in the 19th century.
Provides electronic access to the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices' confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. It provides a searchable collection of official documents covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonization of Africa.
A collection of British government documents produced by the Foreign and Colonial Offices covering a broad sweep of history from c1833-1969, includes papers generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices which were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to Heads of British missions abroad. Covers the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s.
A collection of British government documents produced by the Foreign and Colonial Offices consisting of the Confidential Print documents for the countries of the Levant, the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, and Iran, Turkey, Egypt, and Sudan. These files document the history of the Middle East from a British perspective. Material types include reports, dispatches, correspondence, profiles of major personalities, political summaries, and economic analyses.
A collection of British government documents produced by the Foreign and Colonial Offices covering a broad sweep of history from c1824-1961, taking in the USA, Canada, the Caribbean and Central America.
Spanning five centuries, and charting the rise and fall of empires around the world, Empire Online explores colonial history, politics, culture and society. Primary source material from American, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, German and British perspectives provides varying points-of-view for comparative research. Documents from Africa, India and North America are also featured.
Period Covered : Late 15th to early 21st century
This collection of files from the Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980.
This collection provides complete runs of Foreign Office files providing an expansive view of key events and their global political impact. From invasions and civil wars to revolutions and revolts, annual reviews detail internal affairs, external political relationships and offer economic analysis giving a detailed history of the region across the 1970s.
Primary source documents from 1600 to 1920, covering the expansion of European culture into the American West and Southwest, Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and British Honduras (Belize). Includes records related to agriculture, trade and commerce, family life, exploration, government, health and medicine, land and property, religion, military history, and women’s history.
A collection of digitized primary sources that explores the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
A United Kingdom social research organization founded in 1937, Mass Observation documented the actions of ordinary Britons in everyday life. The organization carried out this anthropological research from 1937 through the mid-1950s. Mass Observation Online makes available original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
A collection of manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925). One of the first Americans to live in Japan, Morse taught science at the Imperial University of Tokyo and he devoted much of his life to the task of documenting life in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization.
Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Primary source diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals narrate the realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands. Organizational correspondence, government proceedings, shipping company papers and records of advocacy groups provide key context to migrants’ everyday struggles.
Documents the history of "popular" remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America which was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. The collection contains primary source materials drawn from the extensive collections at the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art.
Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Includes: 3D models of anatomical structures and systems, physiology animations, pathology visualizations, illustrations, cadaver images paired with CTI or MRI scans, definitions, pronunciations, learning presentations that use this visual content, and more.
We are subscribing to three of the four products: Anatomy & Physiology Human Anatomy Atlas Muscle Premium Chrome is the preferred browser but also available on the Edge and Firefox browsers.
Note: the first time you launch, it may take a few minutes to load the products. From the landing page, the icon for the product you are searching will be the active link. After clicking on the icon for the desired product, you need to then click the launch link.
• A Finding Aid to Women's Studies Resources in the National Archives at Kew
• Original Documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories covering the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.