A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Provides biographical details on thousands of modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Includes current writers as well as the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century and authors from around the world. Information is provided by the authors themselves or drawn from published interviews, feature stories, book reviews and other materials provided by the authors/publishers.


The Library has access to: volume 206 (2003)-v.301 (2011).


Access provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
New
A biographical and bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields including poetry, fiction and nonfiction, journalism, drama, television and movies. Includes the most recent data on the world's most-popular authors. Profile sketches are entirely revised and completely replace the original Contemporary Authors entries. Each volume contains approximately 250 writers.


Access provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).


The Library has access to: volume 114 (2003)-v. 209 (2011).
New
Drawing on 10 years of National Theatre Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection is complete and contains 30 filmed performances.

unlimited simultaneous users
New
The Electronic Capito Project provides access to the text of letters from and to Wolfgang Faber Capito (c. 1478-1541) which are either unpublished or were published before 1850.
New
Paleography is the history and study of handwriting. Old scripts can be very beautiful, but sometimes difficult to read. This site presents over 100 carefully selected French manuscripts written between 1300 and 1700, with tools for deciphering them and learning about their social, cultural, and institutional settings.


Note: The "Transcribe" feature on this site is best used in Google Chrome. To practice the transcribe feature you will need to create an account.
New
GEMMS is a group-sourced online bibliographic database of early modern (1530-1715) manuscript sermons from the UK, Ireland and North America.
New
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.
Trial
Trial runs August 20, 2020 - November 17, 2020.

Met Opera on Demand is the online streaming service that allows users to watch and listen to more than 700 Met performances over the internet.

Met Opera on Demand is now available and accessible on popular device and platforms, including: computers (directly through the Met website), tablets (iPad, Android, and Amazon Fire), mobile phones (iPhone and Android), Roku, Amazon Fire TV, Samsung Smart TV, and Apple TV (app available for 4th gen devices and AirPlay in the free Met Opera on Demand iOS app for older models.) See FAQ.


Trial Feedback
New
An extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
New
This site includes two fully-searchable databases containing information from approximately 170 prompt-books for productions of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. These productions range from the seventeenth century to the 1980s.
Trial
Trial runs from October 2, 2020 - May 31, 2021.

A new version of the primary database for searching the chemical literature. You must register for an account using your utk.edu or utsi.edu email. Visit our SciFinder guide for search tips.
Visible Body
New
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Includes: 3D models of anatomical structures and systems, physiology animations, pathology visualizations, illustrations, cadaver images paired with CTI or MRI scans, definitions, pronunciations, learning presentations that use this visual content, and more.


We are subscribing to three of the four products:
Anatomy & Physiology https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/46507538

Human Anatomy Atlas https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/46507102

Muscle Premium https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/46507445


Chrome is the preferred browser but also available on the Edge and Firefox browsers.

Note: the first time you launch, it may take a few minutes to load the products. From the landing page, the icon for the product you are searching will be the active link. After clicking on the icon for the desired product, you need to then click the launch link.

For system requirements see FAQ.
Trial
Trial runs August 20, 2020 - December 10, 2020.

Visible Body's Skeleton Premium module provides 'deep dive' into the skeletal system, including hundreds of interactive 3D models, bony landmarks, and animations/illustrations of cross-system anatomy and common pathologies. Available on both computer and mobile devices.


To set up mobile app:
1. Go to the database. Select "Information about mobile access" to the right.
2. Follow the provided instructions for off campus.

Trial Feedback
Loading...
Loading...

About E-Resources