A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
AccessMedicine’s Case Files Collection from McGraw-Hill Education offers its best-selling Case Files content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.

Note:
Exceeded license message during trial - If while trying to access the site, you receive an error message regarding exceeded licenses, this means your allotted seats have been used up at that time.

Mobile view -- If you or your patrons are trying to access the site during the trial period via a mobile device, you will need to register for a MyAccess account via the website.

Trial runs from November 28, 2017 - December 28, 2017.
Trial
Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980.
These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies, and first-hand accounts of events give unprecedented access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation.



Please send feedback to Anne Bridges abridges@utk.edu

Trial runs from September 13, 2017-December 13, 2017.
New
Lists jobs in theater, dance, opera, symphonies, universities, arts councils, performing arts centers, etc. Restricted to students in the UT Theatre and Music departments.
Trial
The ccAdvisor is a collaborative effort between Choice and The Charleston Company to deliver a searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to academic databases, websites, and tools. Itself a database, ccAdvisor draws upon the traditions of objectivity and scholarly excellence that characterize both Choice and The Charleston Advisor to create the source for the evaluation and selection of digital resources for libraries.
Because it is a database, not simply an archive of reviews, the information in ccAdvisor will be continuously updated and remain current through round after round of product upgrades and successor versions of standing works.


Send feedback to Teresa Berry.

Trial runs from November 30, 2017 –June 30, 2018.
Trial
Church Missionary Society Periodicals features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009. Available in two modules.

Module 1 of Church Missionary Society Periodicals features publications from the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society between 1804 and 2009. With publications ranging in period, style and focus, this resource aims to offer a global view of missionary activity across three centuries and to facilitate research within a vast range of disciplines.

Module 2 focuses on the publications of CMS medical mission auxiliaries, the work of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society among women in Asia and the Middle East, newsletters from native churches and student missions in China and Japan, and 'home' material including periodicals aimed specifically at women and children subscribers. Articles, often in the form of letters authored by missionaries abroad, are enhanced by detailed illustrations and photographs of their surroundings, the mission community and the people among whom they worked.



Send feedback to Anne Bridges abridges@utk.edu


Trial runs from September 13, 2017 - December 13, 2017.
Trial
Collection of Communist American and British papers: The Daily Worker (1936-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); New York; and The Worker (1958-1968); London.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
Trial
Confidential Print: Africa provides scholars with unprecedented electronic access to the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This important new resource will provide researchers with a searchable collection of scores of official documents covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonization of Africa.


Please send feedback to Anne Bridges abridges@utk.edu

Trial runs from September 13, 2017 - December 13, 2017.
New
The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) is the largest corpus of English, and the only large and balanced corpus of American English. COCA, along with other corpora, offers unparalleled insight into variation in English. COCA contains more than 520 million words of text and it is equally divided among spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts.

After accessing COCA, patrons must create their own individual account using their UT email address (name@utk.edu) to have full access to COCA.
New
The Corpus of Historical American English (COHA) is the largest structured corpus of historical American English. COHA contains more than 400 million words of text from the 1810s-2000s.


After accessing COHA, patrons must create their own individual account using their UT email address (name@utk.edu) to have full access to COHA.
Trial
The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been published since 1981 and covers the work of more than thirty authors. The texts included in the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker range from early German writing to the works of major authors of the nineteenth century, including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background. Scholars can follow the political and intellectual debates at the heart of Europe in the nineteenth century, for example, by reviewing texts relating to the theory of the state and the church or the theory and history of war. The Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker was completed in 2004.

Please send feedback to Margaret Casado
Trial runs from October 16, 2017 - December 15, 2017
New
DRAMeXchange conducts research on DRAM and NAND Flash. The DRAMeXchange team covers spot prices, market trends, capital expenditure, capacity trends, PC industry status updates, and more. The team also analyzes shipment data and provides market intelligence for smart devices. DRAMeXchange offers accurate insights on worldwide demands for smart devices as well as a clear overview of the market.
Trial
Early European Books provides scholars with new ways of accessing and exploring all works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield.

Building upon and complementing Early English Books Online (EEBO), Early European Books is largely concerned with non-Anglophone materials. However, books in English or printed in the English-speaking world that are already represented in EEBO are not omitted from Early European Books where they form an integral element of the predominantly non-Anglophone collections that have been made available for digital capture.

This trial provides access to all eleven collections that comprise the Early European Books database.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges.

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
Trial
Education Magazine Archive provides access to the full-digitized backfiles of 26 major magazines and trade publications in the field of education, dating from the early 20th century through to the 21st.
In addition to its core relevance to research in the history of education, this newly-accessible content will open up fresh opportunities for research in numerous other fields, including social history, childhood studies, psychology, sociology, and politics.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
Trial
EVGeoCloud is a web-based platform that provides easy online access to geospatial data spanning a spectrum of services from Web Mapping Service (WMS), Web Feature Service (WFS) and Web Coverage Service (WCS) as well as internet browser-based platforms and custom applications.

Please send feedback Eric Arnold.

Trial runs from November 6, 2017 to December 15, 2017.
Trial
JSTOR Global Plants offers access to botanical resources from dozens of herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years, and full-text books and reference works on botany.

Send feedback to Donna Braquet.

Trial runs from November 14, 2017 -- December 31, 2017.
Trial
This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Housed in the Bodleian Library in Oxford, the John Johnson Collection is widely recognized as one of the most important collections of printed ephemera in the world and generally regarded as the most significant single collection of ephemera in the UK. It contains a wide array of rare and unusual materials, which has remained largely unknown to scholars and researchers.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
New
Latin American News Digest (LAND) is a weekly online aggregator of Latin American news media, featuring condensed versions of stories written in English, but with links to all the original articles and opinion pieces in Spanish, Portuguese, and a few in English. the Digest provides a useful conduit to Latin American journalism, amplifying the news produced in Latin America by Latin Americans. The weekly aggregation links to 85-120 pieces from the 100 plus media sources tracked in nineteen countries. LAND strikes a balance between following events in the larger, more populous regions and the smaller, more rural areas, and tracks big stories and small ones with topics in economics, politics, arts and culture, society, environment, inter-American issues, and much more.
Trial
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive, 1554-2007 showcases a diverse range of material from the archive of the Stationers' Company archive including:
• Constitutional Records
• Court Records
• Membership Records
• Financial Records
• Trade Records
• General Administrative Records
• Charities and Property Records

The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars. A vast and unique collection of primary source documents, this collection is widely regarded as one of the most important primary sources for studying the history of the book as well as publishing history, the history of copyright and the workings of an early London Livery Company.

Please send feedback to Chris Caldwell ccaldwell@utk.edu.

Trial runs from September 13, 2017 – December 13, 2017.
Trial
MapVault is East View Geospatial's (EVG) raster map library delivered as a streaming file service through a web application. Offering dozens of authoritative data sources together in one platform, this service delivers immediate access to the world's most extensive commercially owned geospatial library comprising hundreds of series, and different themes such as Topographic, Geological, Aeronautical, Nautical, Tourist and Thematic.

Please send feedback Eric Arnold.

Trial runs from November 6, 2017 to December 15, 2017.
Trial
Including material from the Crimean, American Civil War and the First World War, researchers can follow the development of medical equipment and methods across continents, including how governments and medical organizations learnt from each other’s experience (or failed to do so). Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.

Please send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from October 11, 2017 - January 11, 2018.
Trial
*BETA* trial of new Newsbank Access World News platform.

This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.

Share Feedback

Trial runs from October 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017.
New
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
New
This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. It combines continuous runs of regional newspapers, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. Composed of primary source documents that encompass the buildup to and evolution of the war. ProQuest Civil War Era focuses on the entire era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War--enabling researchers to investigate not just the battles, but also the rising tensions that led the country to war.

Access provided by the Tennessee State Library Archive.
Trial
FBI Confidential Files and Radical Politics in the US 1945-1972 collection can be found under the American Politics and Society subject area. You can search the material within the subject area or browse by module.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
Trial
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 collection can be found under the American Politics and Society subject area. You can search the material within the subject area or browse by module.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
Trial
New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies collection can be found under the American Politics and Society subject area. You can search the material within the subject area or browse by module.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
Trial
Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records collection can be found under the Workers and Labor Unions subject area. You can search the material within the subject area or browse by module.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
Trial
Indian Claims Insight is a one-of-a-kind research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims.
Indian Claims Insight will provide Indian claims researchers with content and workflow solution tools that will allow users to research the history of U.S. Indian claims from 1789-present. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes; and related statutes and congressional publications.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
New
A bibliographic research database covering topics on the social, political and economic relations between race and ethnicity. Contains bibliographic records covering areas relating to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
Trial
Religious Magazine Archive (RMA) offers archival runs of 18 historical magazines devoted to religious topics spanning the 19th-21st centuries. Each title has a deep backfile of several decades beginning with its first issue, with the earliest content dating from 1845. Coverage terminates by default at 2015.
Popular magazine archives in the field of religion are key primary sources for researchers through which to interpret myriad aspects of 20th-century in fields such the history of religion, theology, sociology, anthropology, international affairs and politics. These popular readership titles provide a unique perspective on the responses of religious groups to the contemporary issues, trends, and events during this period, not only in religious life, but also in wider society, politics, and international affairs. The magazines span a wide variety of religions and denominations, allowing for comparative studies of the responses of each to specific events and issues.

Send feedback to Anne Bridges

Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
Trial
Public debates surrounding immigration policy, climate change, international relations, and constitutional and human rights are currently at the forefront of our national discourse. Critical reasoning, supported through academic research, is needed.

As a result, De Gruyter, along with our partner presses, is making freely available books and journal articles across nine topical areas for all students and faculty. Broadening access to this scholarship enables more people to address these issues in an informed manner: it helps us combat false news sources, to consider the nature of truth and ethics, and to understand the struggles of all members of society.

Topical categories: Constitutional History -- Dissent, Truth and Ethics -- Environmental Studies -- Gender Studies -- Geo-Politics --Human Rights -- Immigration & Urbanism -- Islamic Studies -- Leadership.



Trial runs from July 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017.


Please send feedback to Molly Royse mroyse@utk.edu.
New
SAGE Business Cases brings business to life—inspiring students, researchers, and practitioners to develop their own best practices and reach for professional success. This collection brings together cases selected from a variety of sources, including key university and association partnerships, to meet the needs of business faculty and students internationally.

New
SAGE Business Researcher delivers in-depth, curriculum-oriented issues to launch student inquiry into vital issues in business, management, and economics. Written with immediacy and the rigor of the best explanatory journalism, each report provides deep, balanced, and authoritative coverage on the selected topic and key research, and points students to reliable resources for further inquiry.

New
SAGE Research Methods Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. The collection provides more than 500 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. They explain why the researchers chose the methods they did, how they overcame problems in their research and what they might have done differently with hindsight: the realities of research that are missing from journal articles and textbooks. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions. They can be used as a teaching tool to demonstrate a particular method and how it is applied in real research, or as inspiration to students who are preparing for their own research project.


• Browse hundreds of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to support teaching and learning in research methods.
• Explore the difficulties, nuances, and real-life decisions researchers are forced to make in the course of a project.
• Search cases by subject area, academic level, and methods used.

New
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. This bank of topical, engaging practice datasets, indexed by method and data type, are optimized to use in classroom exercises or in exam papers, saving faculty members hours spent sourcing and cleaning data themselves. The decisions researchers make when analyzing data can seem like a black box for students—through practicing analysis using real data from SAGE Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made, helping them to become confident researchers.

• Practice qualitative and quantitative analytical methods with sample data and instructional guides
• Find datasets that demonstrate dozens of methods and represent work in Business, Education, Health, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology
• Find downloadable data to use in course assignments and exam questions

New
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 120 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action. Stimulate class discussions by assigning videos for pre-class viewing, or use a clip in class to provide an alternative viewpoint. Videos can also be embedded into course management systems for exam preparation. Through these videos, 60% of which are exclusive to SAGE, students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project and succeed in their research methods course
• Covers every aspect of research skills training and guides students through every step of the research process
• Contains 120+ hours of content
• Includes an entire 15-hour introductory statistics course, which students can access again and again, ensuring they master the concepts
• Students can access content at any time, and instructors can embed videos in their course management systems.

New
Developed in partnership with leading academics and practitioners, the SAGE Video Collection in Business & Management has over 140 hours of curated content. Designed to support teaching, learning and research, the collection caters to different learning styles with exclusive, customizable video content that brings the highest levels of academic credibility, a wide diversity of teaching perspectives and an international representation to a visual format. The collection includes:
- tutorials
- documentaries
- research by leading experts
- practitioner perspectives across the entire discipline.

New
The Counseling and Psychotherapy collection has more than 120 hours and 430 videos includes how-to tutorials and interviews. From CBT to Gestalt Therapy, and from Counseling Skills to Counseling Training, it features extensive demonstrations of clients and practitioners in real-life professional contexts designed to illustrate best practice and provide an essential insight for students to master the skills and techniques they need to succeed.
New
With more than 120 hours of video covering all branches of the Criminal Justice system, the Criminology & Criminal Justice collection supports students and researchers at all levels via tutorial videos that take viewers step-by-step through the criminal investigation process. Contains case studies that show how research affects policy and practices; and films that take you inside forensics labs, correctional facilities, and courtrooms.
New
An internationally diverse collection of more than 128 hours and over 500 videos offers academic viewpoints and real-life insights into practices studied in Communication and Media Studies courses.
New
The Vertical Flight Library includes downloadable papers from nearly all Forum Proceedings from 1943 to today, as well as papers from nearly 100 Technical Specialists' Meetings and 60+ years of Vertiflite magazine.


NOTE: To view full-text -- add items to shopping cart, use the checkout button, NO PAYMENT IS REQUIRED – downloadable content will have $0 pricing. Click complete order, download file using document PDF link.
Loading...
Loading...

About E-Resources