This is the "Home" page of the "University of Tennessee Archives " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


University of Tennessee Archives   Tags: administration, alumni, faculty, students, utk university_of_tennessee campus  

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials regarding the University of Tennessee Archives. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and digital collections.
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/utarchives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome

Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections. This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the history of the University of Tennessee.

Search Terms
There are several search terms to use when looking for materials. Although some of the terms are dated, they reflect the historic usage and can help identify contemporaneous materials: College presidents--History, Education, Higher Education--Tennessee--History, University of Tennessee, Knoxville--History, University of Tennessee, Knoxville--Faculty, Student Activites--Tennessee, and Theater--Tennessee--Knoxville.

The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:

 

Student Resources

Manuscript and Archives Collections

Office of the University Historian Collection, 1819-1996 (AR. 0015)
This collection houses a wealth of papers, clippings, ephemera, photographs, and slides documenting the University of Tennessee system, including the campuses at Knoxville, Nashville, Memphis, Martin, and Chattanooga. Although the earliest images date from the 1820s, the bulk of the material shows the University from the 1870s onward.

University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection, circa 1820s-circa 1990 (AR. 0018)
This collection houses photographs and slides documenting the University of Tennessee from its beginnings as Blount College in 1794 through the 1990s.

To request a manuscript or archives collection, please visit our request page.

University Archives--Rare Books
To Foster Knowledge: A History of the University of Tennessee. 1794-1970 (LD5293.M594 1984)
University of Tennessee Record, University of Tennessee [Knoxville Campus]. 1898-1989 (LD5286.R3)
Volunteer Moments: Vignettes of the History of the University of Tennessee. 1917-2004 (LD5293.V65 1996)
An Honored Calling: A History of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.1999 (LD5299.5.A47 S6)
East Tennessee University:Pre-War Years, 1840-1861. 1950 (LD5293 .F61)
One More for the Hill. 1990 (LD5296.B38 1990)
Threshold of a New Day: the University of Tennessee, 1919-1946. 1971 (LD5293 .V65 1996)
University of Tennessee. 2007 (LD5293. P87 2007)

Digital Resources
History of UT Photo Exhibit
TRACE (UT's Online Institutional Repository)
University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection
University of Tennessee Student Publications
Volunteer Yearbooks

Search Terms
University of Tennessee, Knoxville -- History
University of Tennessee, Knoxville -- Pictorial works

      
     

    Special Collections Subject Guides

    Profile Image
    Special Collections
    Contact Info:
    Contact Info
    1015 Volunteer Boulevard
    Knoxville, TN 37996
    (865) 974-4480

    Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip