Skip to main content
Skip to content

Communication Studies 210 & 240: Public Speaking & Business/Professional Communication

This guide provides resources for finding, evaluating and citing sources.

Part 1: Finding Sources

Library Offerings

Need a book? The UT Libraries have more than three million. But an equally important part of the Libraries' collections are online. These include journal and newspaper articles, e-books, videos, and more. Many of these materials are subscription-based items that you could not freely access through a Google search.

You can access these materials through the Libraries' search engines, which are often referred to as "databases."  The activities below will help you learn and about and find sources in several of these databases. Remember that where you search impacts what you find -- and how easily you find it.


Activities

Directions: Click the green "Start" buttons for each tutorial pictured below. Section 1 is an interactive tutorial on One Search, a database for finding books, articles and a variety of other library materials. Section 2 focuses specifically on finding articles through using a database called Academic Search Complete.

Each activity contains guiding questions throughout, as well as a 5-question quiz to test your knowledge at the end. Once you finish, be sure to e-mail yourself a copy of the certificate of completion.

FINDING SOURCES

Click the "Start" buttons below to begin.

One Search Tutorial                                 Finding Articles Tutorial

Section 1: One Search                                                  Section 2: Finding Articles


Additional Databases

Both One Search and Academic Search Complete are good starting points for research because they have a broad, interdisciplinary focus. Other library databases that may be helpful for your assignments, such as Business Source Complete, are more specialized and focus on a particular subject area.

To explore other databases, check out the links at the left, or visit the Libraries' Articles and Databases page. Its "Getting Started: General Topics" guide is another useful starting point for undergraduate research.