This is the "Home" page of the "Native American Indian Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


Native American Indian Resource Guide  

Created by LaVerne Gray and Shantel Agnew in celebration of American Indian Heritage Month. The guide includes hints on searching the UT Libraries catalog by subject, background information, biographies, atlases, history & culture, online resources,
Last Updated: May 19, 2010 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/nativeamerican Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Back to Diversity Resources

Subject Searching

The following subjects are helpful when searching in the catalog.

Indians of North America
Indians of North America--Politics and Government
Indians of North America--Civil Rights
Indians of North America--Legal Status, Laws

Indians, Treatment of -- United States

When searching for particular tribes use the name and the word “Indians.”

Cherokee Indians
Ojibwa Indians
Lakota Indians

      

    Atlases

    Atlas of the North American Indian
    Hodges Reference / Reference: G1106.E1 W3 2000

    Atlas of American Indian affairs
    Hodges Reference = Reference * G1201.E1 * P7 1990

    Indian war sites: a guidebook to battlefields, monuments, and memorials, state by state with Canada and Mexico
    Hodges Reference / Reference: E81 .R35 1999

        
       

      History and Culture

      Archaeology of prehistoric native America: an encyclopedia
      Hodges Reference E77.9 .A72 1998

      Native Americans: an encyclopedia of history, culture, and peoples
      Hodges Reference E77 .P89 1998

      Native time: a historical time line of native America
      Hodges Reference E98.C55 F73 1996

      Word dance: the language of Native American culture
      Hodges Reference E76.2 .W36 1994

      Encyclopedia of American Indian costume
      Hodges Reference E98.C8 P37 1994

      Dictionary of Native American mythology
      Hodges Reference E98.R3 G46 1992

      Who was who in Native American history: Indians and non-Indians from early contacts through 1900
      Hodges Reference E89 .W35 1990

       

      Video Recordings


      Before Columbus
      Media Center / Videocassette: E58.B43 1993

      Dancing in Moccasins
      Media Center / Videocassette: E77.D263.1993

      The American Experience: In the White Man’s Image
      Media Center / Videocassette: E97.I67.1991

      Transitions
      Media Center / Videocassette: PM2341.T73 1991

      The American Indian
      Media Center / Videocassette: E77.6.A43 1996

      Serials and Periodicals

      Northeast Anthology
      Hodges Library GN1.M345

      The Native People
      Hodges Library E78.C2N38

      Akwesasne Notes
      Hodges Library E77.A39

          

        Background Information

        Background Information

        The Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes
        Hodges Reference E77 .G15 1998

        Encyclopedia of native North America
        Hodges Reference E76.2 G74 1999

        Encyclopedia of Native American religions: an introduction
        Hodges Reference E98.R3 H73 2000

        The encyclopedia of Native American economic history
        Hodges Reference E98.E2 E52 1999

        Encyclopedia of American Indian civil rights
        Hodges Reference KF8210.C5 E53 1997

        Native America in the twentieth century: an encyclopedia
        Hodges Reference E76.2 .N36 1994

        Statistical record of Native North Americans
        Hodges Reference E98.P76 S73 1995

            

          Biography/ Biographical works


          Native American women: a biographical dictionary
          Hodges Reference E98.W8 B38 2001

          The encyclopedia of native American biography: six hundred life stories of important people from Powhatan to Wilma Mankiller
          Hodges Reference E89 .J69 1997

          The life of Elaine Goodale Eastman
          Hodges Library E99.S22 E27 2005

          Assimilation's agent : my life as a superintendent in the Indian boarding school system
          Hodges Library E97.65.N4 C43 2004

          House of shattering light : life as an American Indian mystic
          Hodges Library E98 .R3 R342 2003

          The life and writings of Betsey Chamberlain : Native American mill worker Hodges Library : HD8039.T42 U6636 2003

          The woman who watches over the world : a native memoir.
          Hodges Library PS3558.O34726 Z47 2001

          American Indian biographies [electronic resource]
          edited by Harvey Markowitz ; project editor, McCrea Adams.

          Lakota Woman
          Hodges Library E99 .D1M425

          Singing an Indian song: a biography of D'Arcy McNickle
          Hodges Library PS3525.A2844 Z83 1992
          *Also available as an electronic resource

          On native ground: memoirs and impressions
          Hodges Library PS3552.A67395 Z472 1997
          *Also available as an electronic resource

          Notable Native Americans
          Hodges Reference E89 .N67 1995

              

            Non-fiction

            Living in the Land of Death: The Choctaw Nation 1830-1860
            Hodges Library E99.C9A34 2004

            Contemporary American Indian Literatures and Oral Traditions
            Hodges Library PS 153. I52R35 1999

            Bibliography of Native American Bibliographies
            Hodges Library E77.W55 2004

            Speak to Me Words: Essays on Contemporary American Indian Poetry
            Hodges Library PS153.I52.S64 2003

                

              Fiction/Literature

              Sweet Hearts
              Hodges Library PS3570.H6474S9 2000

              Gardens in the Dunes: A Novel
              Hodges Library PS3569.I44 G37 1999

              Song of the River
              Hodges Library PS3558.A67194 S65 1997

              Farewell, Thunder Moon
              Hodges Library PS3511.A87F36 1996

              Native American literatures: an encyclopedia of works, characters, authors, and themes
              Hodges Reference PS153.I52 W47 1999

              Native American writers of the United States
              Hodges Reference PS221 .D49 v.175

                  

                Instruction Librarian

                Profile Image
                Thura Mack
                Chat requires JavaScript.
                Contact Info
                245 Hodges Library
                Knoxville Tn 37996
                865. 974. 6381
                tmack@utk.edu
                Send Email
                 

                Description

                Loading  Loading...

                Tip