Skip to main content
Skip to content

Map Collection and Online Resources: Find TN Geologic Maps in the Hoskins Library Map Collection

Locating Geologic Maps of Tennessee in the Hoskins Library Map Collection

Locating Geologic Maps of Tennessee in the Hoskins Library Map Collection

Most of the geologic maps in Hoskins Library circulate to University of Tennessee students, staff, and faculty. It is also possible to make black and white photocopies of most of these maps on the large-format copier at Map Services for a small fee.


Subject headings in the online catalog

While many of the maps in Hoskins Library are not cataloged, searching the following headings as "subject keyword" and limiting the location to "map library" in the online catalog will help retrieve related materials.

Geology - Tennessee
Geology - Tennessee - Maps
Mines and mineral resources - Tennessee

Hoskins Library has extensive collections of Tennessee geologic maps by the Tennessee Division of Geology and the United States Geological Survey.

     Top of Page


Finding Tennessee Division of Geology geologic maps

  • Hardeman, William D., Geologic Map of Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee. Division of Geology, 1966.
    Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3961s.C5 1966, .H3
    This is the most significant small-scale (1:250,000) geologic map of the entire state of Tennessee. The map is divided into East, East Central, West Central, and West sheets.

  • Geologic Map[s] and Mineral Resources Summary, Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee. Division of Geology, 1962-.
    Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3961.C5 s24 .T4 (filed alphabetically by map name)
    This large-scale (1:24,000) series of maps is based on the same 7.5 minute index as the U.S.G.S. topographic quadrangle maps.

  • Status of Detailed Geologic Mapping in Tennessee, November 1990. Nashville: Tennessee. Division of Geology, 1990.
    Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3961.C51 1990 .T4
    This index base map of Tennessee is useful for determining which geologic map includes a particular geographic area.

  • Tennessee Division of Geology Catalogue of Publications
    http://www.tn.gov/environment/geology/docs/catalogue.pdf
    This is a good source for finding information about the latest versions of geologic maps published by the Tennessee Division of Geology.

  • Bulletin - Division of Geology. Nashville: Tennessee. Division of Geology, 1910-.
    Hodges Library / Serial in stacks: QE165.A2
    Several of the Tennessee Division of Geology geologic maps are included in this serial.

     Top of Page


Finding United States Geological Survey geologic maps of Tennessee

  • Folios of the Geologic Atlas of the United States. Washington: Geological Survey (U.S.), 1894-1945.
    Hoskins Map Collection / Atlases: (No call number) (filed by folio number)
    This is a 227-volume set of geologic folios with maps at 1:62,500 and 1:125,000 scales. The folios include discussion of maps, topography, aerial geology, economic geology, structure sections, and columnar sections. Some of these folios were published when John Wesley Powell was still director of the U.S.G.S.!

  • Geologic Quadrangle Maps of the United States. Washington: Geological Survey (U.S.), 1949-.
    Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3701.C5 s24 .G4 (filed by state and map name)
    This mostly 1:24,000 and 1:62,500 scale series is the continuation of the Folios of the Geologic Atlas of the United States.

  • McIntosh, Willard L., Geologic Map Index of Tennessee. Reston, VA: Geological Survey (U.S.), 1978.
    Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3961.C5 1978 .U5
    Includes geologic index base maps of Tennessee from 1:24,000 to 1:250,000 scales. Map areas on the indexes are keyed to bibliographic citations for the Folios of the Geologic Atlas of the United States, Geologic Quadrangle Maps of the United States, and Tennessee Division of Geology geologic maps.

  • U.S. Geological Survey National Geologic Map Database
    http://ngmdb.usgs.gov/ngmdb/
    An online resource used to search for geologic maps by federal, state, commercial, and educational institutions. This database includes helpful searching options like limiting by state, geographic coordinates, map date, format, and publisher. The "Geologic Mapping in Progress" database allows the user to see what areas are currently being mapped.

  • United States Geological Survey Bulletin. Reston, VA: Geological Survey (U.S.), 1883-.
    Hodges Library / Serial in Stacks: QE75.B9
    Some of the U.S.G.S. geologic maps are included in this serial.

  • U.S. Geological Survey Professional Paper. Washington: Geological Survey (U.S.), 1902-.
    Hodges Library / Serial in Stacks: QE75.P9
    Several of the U.S.G.S. geologic maps are included in this serial.