Skip to main content
Skip to content

Map Collection and Online Resources: Great Smoky Mountain National Park Resources

Great Smoky Mountain National Park Resources


Geology

2000, Geology, Great Smoky Mountains National Park Corp Author(s): Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association. ; Geological Survey (U.S.) ; United States.; National Park Service, scale [ca. 1: 169,000].
Hoskins Map Collection/ Map Case: G3902 .G7C55 2000 .G74

Clark, Sandra H. B. Corp Author Geological Survey. Birth of the Mountains : The Geologic Story of the Southern Appalachian Mountains. 2001. U.S. Department of the Interior U.S. Geological Survey Denver Colo. Available from USGS Information Services.
Available: http://pubs.usgs.gov/gip/birth/.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: QE78.5.C43 2001

Geologic Map of the Blockhouse Quadrangle, Tennessee. 1 map :; col ;; 57 x 48 cm , on sheet 75 x 125 cm , folded in envelope 30 x 24 cm. Reston, Va.: The Survey, 1960.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3701.C5 s24 .G4 vf

Geologic Map of the Knoxville Quadrangle, North Carolina, Tennessee, and South Carolina. 1 map :; col ;; 45 x 73 cm , on sheet 96 x 134 cm , folded in envelope 30 x 24 cm: Washington D.C. U.S. Geological Survey, 1971.
Available: http://pubs.er.usgs.gov/publication/i654
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3700 svar .G4 I-654 vf

The Great Smoky Mountains Corp Author(S): Foothills Land Conservancy. ; Geological Survey (U.S.). 1 map :; col ;; 38 x 92 cm , on sheet 68 x 99 cm. Maryville, TN: Foothills Land Conservancy, 1996.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G69 1996 .F66

Great Smoky Mountains National Park Geologic Maps
From the Eastern Region Earth Surface Processes Team, includes downloadable GIS data
Available: http://geology.er.usgs.gov/eespteam/smoky/ResearchAreas/smokys/geologicmaps.htm

Guide book of excursion in the Great Smoky Mountains November 1-2, 1952, Carolina Geological Society
Available: http://www.carolinageologicalsociety.org/CGS/1950s_files/gb%201952.pdf

Hamilton, Warren Bell, et al. Geology of the Great Smoky Mountains, Tennessee and North Carolina. Geological Survey (U.S.) Professional Paper,; 349-a-D; Variation: Geological Survey (U.S.).; Professional Paper ;; 349-a-D. Washington: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1961.
Hoskins Map Collection / Reference Stacks: QE75.P9 no.349 A-D

King, Philip Burke, et al. Geology of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Tennessee and North Carolina. Geological Survey Professional Paper 587; Variation: Geological Survey Professional Paper ;; 587. Washington: [U.S. Dept. of the Interior Geological Survey for sale by the Supt. of Docs.] U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1968.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: QE166.G7K5

Robinson, G. R. Bedrock Geology and Mineral Resources of the Knoxville 10 X 20 Quadrangle Tennessee, North Carolina, and South Carolina. U.S. Geological Survey Bulletin ;; 1979;. Washington, D.C. U.S. G.P.O.: Denver CO, 1992.
Available: http://pubs.usgs.gov/of/2004/1075/user_files/Pub_text.pdf
Hoskins Map Collection / Reference: QE165.B43 1992

Surficial geologic map of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park region, Tennessee and North Carolina
PDF map and text of this U.S. Geological Survey open-file report that includes downloadable GIS data
Available: http://pubs.usgs.gov/of/2003/of03-381/

Water Resources of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee and North Carolina. 2 maps :; col ;; 116 x 95 cm , folded in envelope 30 x 24 cm. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Geological Survey, 1970.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3701.C3 svar .G4 HA-420 vf

     Top of Page


History

Coggins, Allen R. Corp Author Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association. Place Names of the Smokies. 1st ed. Gatlinburg, TN: Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association, 1999.
Hoskins Map Collection / Reference Stacks: F443.G7C57 1999

Fullerton, Ralph O. Corp Author Tennessee, and Geology Division of. Place Names of Tennessee. Bulletin - State of Tennessee, Division of Geology ;; 73; Variation: Bulletin (Tennessee. Division of Geology) ;; 73. Nashville: State of Tennessee Dept. of Conservation Division of Geology, 1974.
Hoskins Map Collection / Reference Stacks: F434 .F84

Historic Areas, Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 40 x 55 cm folded to 22 x 11 cm. Gatlinburg, TN: GSMNHA, 1998.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7S1 1998.G74

Kephart, Horace. The Cherokees of the Smoky Mountains : A Little Band That Has Stood against the White Tide for Three Hundred Years. Gatlinburg, Tenn.: Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association, 1983.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: E99.C5K4 1983

     Top of Page


Nature and Wildlife

2004, Birds & birding, Great Smoky Mountains National Park Corp Author(s): Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association. ; United States.; National Park Service, scale [ca. 1: 169,000].
Hoskins Map Collection / Map Case: G3902 .G7E63 2004 .G74

Explore the Smokies Corp Author(S): Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association. 6 maps ;; 27 x 40 cm , folded to 14 x 9 cm. Gatlinburg, Tenn.: Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association $c [1989?], 1989.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3902.G7 1989.G74 vf

Fishing Regulations, 1990
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7E63 1990.G7

Fontana Lake recreation map, 1982
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.F55E63 1982.T4

Foothills Wildlife Management Area Corp Author(S): Tennessee. Wildlife Resources Agency. 1 map :; col ;; 40 x 31 cm , folded to 18 x 15 cm. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, 2002.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3962.F56D5 2002.T2 vf

Johnsson, Robert G., and John D. Dawson. A Naturalist's Notebook : Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Gatlinburg, Tenn.: Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association, 1984.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: QL196.J65 1984

Little Tennessee River Watershed. Corp Author(S): Tennessee Valley Authority. Division of Water Control Planning. 1 map :; col ;; 51 x 81 cm. Chattanooga, Tenn.: TVA, 1963.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3962.L5 1963.T4

Navigation-Recreation Map, Fontana Reservoir, Little Tennessee River. Corp Author(S): Tennessee Valley Authority. Mapping Services Branch. 3 col maps; 53 x 41 cm ; Scale 1:31,680;; 1 in = 1/2 mile. Chattanooga, Tenn.: The Branch, 1986.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.F55P5 1986.T4

Trees & Forests, Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 40 x 55 cm folded to 22 x 11 cm. Gatlinburg, TN: GSMNHA, 1998.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7K1 1998.G74

Waterfalls, Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 40 x 55 cm folded to 22 x 11 cm. Gatlinburg, TN: GSMNHA, 1998.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7C3 1998.G74

Wild-Flowers, Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 40 x 55 cm folded to 22 x 11 cm. Gatlinburg, TN: GSMNHA, 1998.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7D2 1998.G74

Wildlife Map of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 43 x 77 cm , folded to 12 x 23 cm. Reston, Va.?: American Nature Maps, 1992.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902. G69 1992.G4

Wildlife Viewing, Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 40 x 55 cm folded to 22 x 11 cm. Gatlinburg, TN: GSMNHA, 1998.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7D4 1998.G74

     Top of Page


Raised Relief

Great Smoky Mountains National Park Corp Author(S): Kistler Graphics, Inc. 1 relief model :; col ;; 36 x 49 cm ; Scale ca 1:190,080;; vertical scale 0 2 inches = ca 1000 feet. Denver: Kistler Graphics, 1968
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3872.G7C18 1968.K4

Great Smoky Mountains : National Park Area Map. Corp Author(S): Hubbard Scientific Company. 1 relief model :; col , plastic ;; 29 x 44 x 3 cm. Northbrook, IL: Hubbard, 1983.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7 1983.G7

     Top of Page


Tourism

1998, The Great Smokies detailed inset maps. Corp Author(s): Frankly Graphics (Firm), scale Scales differ.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3902.G7E635 1998 .F73

2002, Auto touring, Great Smoky Mountains National Park Corp Author(s): Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association. ; United States.; National Park Service, scale [ca. 1:169,000].
Hoskins Map Collection / Map Case: G3902 .G7E635 2002 .G74

Auto Touring : Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 41 x 55 cm , on sheet 44 x 60 cm , folded to 22 x 11 cm. Gatlinburg, TN: Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association and the National Park Service, 1998.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7E635 1998.G47

DeLaughter, Jerry Corp Author Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association. Mountain Roads & Quiet Places : A Complete Guide to the Roads of Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Gatlinburg, Tenn.: Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association, 1986.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: GV1024.D45 1986

Destinationmap Great Smoky Mountains National Park Corp Author(S): National Geographic Society (U.S.). National Geographic Maps. 1 map :; col , laminated ;; 53 x 46 cm , folded to 23 x 11 cm. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Maps, 2002
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3902.G7E635 2002.N3 vf

Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee, Streetmap : Including Sevierville, Pigeon Forge, Pittman Center, Sevier County, Featuring Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge Places of Interest Insets. Corp Author(S): Universal Map (Firm). 6 maps on 1 sheet :; both sides, col ;; 55 x 54 cm or smaller, on sheet 68 x 99 cm , folded to 22 x 10 cm. Williamston, MI: UniversalMAP, 1998.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3964.G3 1998.U5

Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 48 x 85 cm , folded to 29 x 12 cm. Knoxville, Tenn.: Vacationland Maps, 1980.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7E635 1980.S4

Great Smoky Mountains National Park Easyfinder Corp Author(S): Rand Mcnally and Company. 1 map :; col , dissected to fold, laminated ;; 45 x 41 cm , folded to 23 x 11 cm. Skokie, IL: Rand McNally, 1996.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3902.G7 1996.R3 vf

Knoxville 50 Mile Radius. Corp Author(S): Superior Mapping Company. 1 map :; col ;; 86 cm x 86 cm , folded to 23 x 11 cm. Knoxville, TN: Superior Mapping Company, 2001.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3964.K7E635 2001.S87

Knoxville & Surrounding Area Super Book : Knox, Anderson, Blount, Sevier Counties. Corp Author(S): Superior Mapping Company. 1 atlas (various pagings) :; col maps ;; 31 cm. Knoxville, TN: Superior Mapping Co., 2001.
Hoskins Map Collection / Reference: G3964.K7 2001.S87

Mountain Road Map, Western North Carolina : Great Smokey [I.E. Smoky] Mountain National Park, Blue Ridge Parkway : Interstate Exit Numbers ... 2 Full Color Large Scale Maps Corp Author(S): Accurate Maps, Inc. 1 map :; col ;; 59 x 98 cm , folded to 25 x 11 cm. Columbia, S.C.: Accurate Maps Inc. Distributed by J & J Sales, 1995.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7 1995.A2

Rand McNally Knoxville Tennessee Map : With Special Map Coverage of Downtown Knoxville, [and] Eastern Tennessee Region Corp Author(S): Rand Mcnally Map Services Company. ; Rand Mcnally and Company. 2 maps on 1 sheet :; col , both sides ;; 62 x 89 cm and 31 x 79 cm , on sheet 65 x 93, folded to 23 x 11 cm. Bowling Green, KY: Rand McNally Map Services Company, 1984.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3964.K7P2 1984.R36

Sevier County : Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, & Sevierville Street Atlas. Corp Author(S): Superior Mapping Company. 1 atlas (13 p , [43] p of plates) :; col maps ;; 28 cm. Knoxville, TN: Superior Mapping Co., 1996.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: G3963.S4 1996.S87

Smoky Mtns. Auto Tours : Including National Park and Gatlinburg Corp Author(S): American Airlines, Inc. 1 map :; col ;; 49 x 79 cm. S.l.: American Airlines, 1980.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7 1980.A5

Vacationland, Blue Ridge Parkway, N. Carolina-Virginia. 1 map :; col ;; 53 x 85 cm on sheet 56 x 86 cm. Knoxville, Tenn.: Vacationland Maps, 1980.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.B55A5 1980.V3

     Top of Page


Trails

100 Favorite Trails of the Great Smokies and Carolina Blue Ridge Compiled by Carolina Mountain Club, Smoky Mountains Hiking Club. 1 map :; col. Asheville, N.C.: Hickory Printing Group Inc., 1988.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7 1988.O5

2002, Backpack loops, Great Smoky Mountains National Park Corp Author(s): Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association. ; United States.; National Park Service, scale [ca. 1:169,000].
Hoskins Map Collection / Map Case: G3902.G7E63 2002 .G74

2005, Appalachian Trail official map. Tennessee-North Carolina, maps 1 & 2 : Damascus, Virginia to Indian Grave Gap, Tennessee, including Roan Highlands and Laurel Fork Falls Corp Author(s): Appalachian Trail Conference, scale 1:63,360.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3709.32.A6 2005.A66 TN-NC MAP 1-2

2005, Appalachian Trail official map. Tennessee-North Carolina, maps 3 & 4 : Indian Grave Gap to Davenport Gap, including Max Patch and Big Bald Corp Author(s): Appalachian Trail Conference, scale 1:63,360. 1 in. = 1 mi.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3709.32.A6 2005.A66 TN-NC MAP 3-4

Appalachian Trail. Corp Author(S): Appalachian Trail Conference. ; United States.; National Park Service. ; Geological Survey (U.S.). 1 map :; col ;; 115 x 76 cm: Harpers Ferry W.V. The Conference, 1981.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3709.32.A6 1981.A66

Appalachian Trail USGS Topographic Maps Corp Author(S): Maptech (Firm) ; Appalachian Trail Conference. Greenland, NH: Maptech, 1999.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3709.32 .A6 1999.M3

Appalachian Trail, Great Smoky Mountains National Park : Big Pigeon River, Tenn., to Little Tennessee River at Fontana Dam, N.C. Corp Author(S): Appalachian Trail Conference. 1 map :; col ;; 44 x 75 cm. Harpers Ferry, W. Va.: The Conference, 1990.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3709.32.A6 1990.A6

Appalachian Trail Guide to North Carolina - Georgia : Davenport Gap, North Carolina, to Springer Mountain, Georgia, Including the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Side Trails. Corp Author(S): Appalachian Trail Conference. Appalachian Trail Guide Series.; Variation: Appalachian Trail Guide. 11th ed. Harper's Ferry, W. Va.: Appalachian Trail Conference, 1998.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: GV199.42.A68A67 1998
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: GV199.42.A68 A67 1998

Brewer, C., Olson, T., Kemp, S.C.A.G.S.M.N.H.A., United, S., National Park, S., and International Mapping, A., 2004, Day hikes in the Deep Creek area, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, scale not given.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.D44E63 2004.G74

Day Hikes, Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 40 x 55 cm folded to 22 x 11 cm. Gatlinburg, TN: GSMNHA, 1999.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7E63 1999.G74

Day Hikes in & around Cades Cove : Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 map :; col ;; 29 x 34 cm , on sheet 62 x 43 cm , folded to 22 x 11 cm. Galinburg, TN: Great Smoky Mountains Natural History Association, 2002.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3962.C15E63 2002.G7

Edgar, Kevin Corp Author Appalachian Trail Conference. Appalachian Trail Guide to Tennessee-North Carolina. Appalachian Trail Guide;. 11th ed. Harpers Ferry, W. Va.: Appalachian Trail Conference, 1995.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: GV199.42.T2A66 1995
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: GV199.42.T2 A66 1995

Elkmont and the Upper Little River. 1 map :; col ;; 25 x 41 cm. Knoxville, TN: Graphic Spirit, 1991.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3902.G7 1991.S5 vf

Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Corp Author(S): United States. National Park Service. 1 map ;; 65 x 142 cm. Washington, D.C.: Dept. of the Interior National Park Service, 1934.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7 1934.N2

Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Corp Author(S): Allen Map Co. 1 map :; col ;; 44 x 68 cm , folded to 23 x 11 cm. Kingston, Tenn.: Allen Map Co., 1990.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7 1990.G7

Great Smoky Mountains Trail Map. Corp Author(S): United States. National Park Service. 1 map :; col ;; 41 x 55 cm , folded to 21 x 10 cm. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 2001.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7E63 2001.U5

Great Smoky Mtns. National Park, Tennessee/North Carolina, USA Corp Author(S): Trails Illustrated (Firm) ; National Geographic Society (U.S.).; National Geographic Maps. 1 map :; both side, col , plastic ;; 61 x 145 cm , on sheet 64 x 94 cm , folded to 24 x 11 cm. Evergreen, Colo.: Trails Illustrated, 2004.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7E63 2004.T75

Hiking Map & Guide, Great Smoky Mountains National Park : Features: Topographic Map (1:62,500) of Great Smoky Mountains National Park ... Trail Mileages and Descriptions. 1 map :; both sides, col ;; 69 x 158 cm , on sheet 69 x 99 cm , folded to 23 x 17 cm. La Jolla, CA: Earthwalk Press, 2002.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7E63 2002.E2

Manning, Russ, and Sondra Jamieson. The Best of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park : A Hiker's Guide to Trails and Attractions. Norris, Tenn.: Mountain Laurel Place, 1991.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: GV199.42.G73M35 1991

Murlless, Dick, Constance L. Stallings, and author joint. Hiker's Guide to the Smokies. A Sierra Club Totebook;. San Francisco: Sierra Club, 1973.
Hoskins Map Collection / Stacks: F443.G7 M87

Tennessee Atlas & Gazetteer : Detailed Topographic Maps Corp Author(S): Delorme Mapping Company. 1 atlas (72 p ) :; col maps ;; 40 cm. Yarmouth, Me.: DeLorme, 2001.
Hoskins Map Collection / Reference: G1335.D4 2001

Topographic Map, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee and North Carolina Corp Author(S): Geological Survey (U.S.). 1978. The Survey United States North Carolina Great Smoky Mountains National Park. United States Tennessee Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Available: http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.gmd/g3902g.np000174.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3902.G7 1978.G4

     Top of Page


Web Sites

Birth of the mountains : the geologic story of the southern Appalachian Mountains
A PDF version of a U.S. Geological Survey publication

Great Smoky Mountains National Park
The National Park Service site that includes PDF park maps

Great Smoky Mountains Regional Collection
An ongoing project at the University of Tennessee that includes digital collections and an extensive bibliography

Mapping the national parks
A Library of Congress American Memory Collections site that presents a historical view of the mapping of the Smoky Mountains

Surficial geologic map of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park region, Tennessee and North Carolina
Includes PDF map and text of this U.S. Geological Survey open-file report