Skip to main content
Skip to content

Map Collection and Online Resources: Celestial Maps

Celestial Maps

The Universe

Journey into the Universe through Time and Space ; National Geographic--Palomar Sky Survey Charting the Heavens. 6 diagrams and 8 ill on 1 sheet :; both sides, some col ;; sheet 58 x 87 cm. Washington, D.C.: The Society, 1983.
Hoskins Map Collection / NGS map

Ridpath, Ian. The Facts on File Atlas of Stars and Planets : A Beginner's Guide to the Universe. New York: Facts on File, 1993.
Hodges Library / Stacks: QB45.R53 1993

     Top of Page


The Solar System

Bateman, Earl C., and Raymond P. Corp Author Celestial Arts Duke. Solar System Exploration. Visual Material. Celestial Arts, Berkeley, CA, 1986.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3190 1986.S6

The Daily Telegraph Map of the Night Sky. Corp Author(S): Geographia Ltd. ; Daily Telegraph. 1 map. London, England: Geographia Ltd., 1980.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3190 1980 .D3 v.f.

Das Sonnensystem : Planeten Und Monde = the Solar System : Planets and Satellites = Le Systeme Solaire : Planetes Et Satellites = Il Sistema Solare : Pianeti E Satelliti. Corp Author(S): Hallwag Ag. 1 map :; col ;; 80 x 126 cm , folded in cover 22 x 15 cm. Berne: Hallwag, 1990.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3180 1990.H3

Geology of the Solar System. Corp Author(S): Geological Survey (U.S.) ; United States.; National Aeronautics and Space Administration. ; United States.; Office of Space Science and Applications.; Solar System Exploration Division. 1 map :; col ;; on sheet 85 x 69 cm. Reston, VA: The Survey Denver CO For sale by the USGS Information Services, 1997.
Hoskins Map Collection/ Map case: G3700 svar .G4 I-2596 (oversize)

Greeley, Ronald, Raymond M. Corp Author Geological Survey Batson, and Astrogeology Branch of. The Nasa Atlas of the Solar System. Cambridge University Press, 1997.
Hodges Library / Oversize: G1000.G7 1997

The Heavens. col map; 57 x 85 cm ; Scale ca 1:45,000,000: Washington D.C., 1970.
Hoskins Map Collection / NGS map

The Solar System. Corp Author(S): National Geographic Society (U.S.). Cartographic Division. 1 map :; col ;; 44 x 58 cm. Washington, D.C.: The Society, 1981.
Hoskins Map Collection / NGS map

Transparent Celestial Globe. 1 globe :; col , transparent plastic, mounted on plastic base ;; 30 cm in diam. Saginaw, MI: Trippensee Planetarium Co., 1968.
Hoskins Map Collection / Globe: G3160 1968 .T7
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical File: G3160 1968 .T7 (text)

     Top of Page


Planets

Planetary Maps : Maps to Help You Find Your Way around on the Moon and Mars and on Some of Earth's Neighboring Planets and Their Satellites. Corp Author(S): Geological Survey (U.S.). 18 maps on 1 sheet :; both sides, some col ;; sheet 122 x 92 cm , folded to 21 x 23 cm. Reston, Va.: U.S. Dept. of the Interior U.S. Geological Survey, 1997.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3190 1997.U5

Earth

Apt, Jay, et al. Orbit : Nasa Astronauts Photograph the Earth. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society, 1996.
Hodges Library / Stacks: TR713.O73 1996

Continental Globe. 1 globe. Frazer, PA: Spherical Concepts, 1985.
Hoskins Map Collection / Globe: G3170 1985.L6
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file: G3170 1985.L6 (text)

The Earth from Space. Corp Author(S): Armagh Planetarium. Visual Material. Planetarium Armagh, Armagh, N. Ireland, 1996.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file: QB637.E273 1996

Earthrise, Apollo 11. Corp Author(S): Spaceshots Inc. ; Apollo 11 (Spacecraft). Visual Material. Spaceshots Inc., United States, 1990.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: QB68.E37 1990

Harries, John E. Earthwatch : The Climate from Space. Ellis Horwood Series in Atmospheric Science;. New York: E. Horwood, 1990.
Hodges Library / Stacks: QC981.E24 1990

Political Globe. Corp Author(S): National Geographic Society (U.S.). Cartographic Division. 1 globe :; col , set on black acrylic base ;; 30 cm in diameter ; Scale 1:41,800,000 or 660 miles to the in: Washington, 1988.
Hoskins Map Collection / Globe: G3170 1989.N3

Moon

Apollo 11, 12, and 14 Traverses. Corp Author(S): Geological Survey (U.S.) ; United States.; Defense Mapping Agency. ; United States.; National Aeronautics and Space Administration. 3 maps on 1 sheet :; col ;; 33 x 48 cm or smaller, sheet 74 x 53 cm. Washington, D.C.: Defense Mapping Agency, 1970.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3196.P7 19--.N2

Bussey, Ben, and Paul D. Spudis. The Clementine Atlas of the Moon. Cambridge University Press, 2004.
Hodges Library / Atlases: G1000.3.B8 2004

The Earth's Moon. col map; 67 x 103 cm ; Scale 1:11,620,000: Washington, 1969.
Hoskins Map Collection / NGS map

Mares Nectaris-Mares Imbrium. Corp Author(S): United States. Army Map Service. 1 map :; col ;; 127 x 102 cm. Washington: The Service, 1962.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3197 1962.N2

Mion, Pierre Corp Author National Geographic Society. Teammates in Mankind's Greatest Adventure. Visual Material. The Society, Washington, D.C., 1973.
Hoskins Map Collection / NGS map

National Aeronautics and Space Administration Lunar Chart. Corp Author(S): Aerospace Center (U.S.) ; United States.; National Aeronautics and Space Administration. 3 maps on 1 sheet :; col ;; 2 hemispheres each 29 cm in diam and 26 x 91 cm , sheet 66 x 97 cm. St. Louis, Mo.: The Center Greenbelt Md. [Available from] National Space Science Data Center Goddard Space Flight Center, 1979.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3195 1979.N2

Pictorial Lunar Map. Corp Author(S): United States. Army Map Service. col map; 87 x 85 cm ; Scale ca 1:5,000,000: Washington, 1963.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3196.A4 1963.N2

Rand Mcnally Official Map of the Moon. Corp Author(S): Rand Mcnally and Company. ; United States.; Aeronautical Chart and Information Service. ; (Compiler - Com). 1 map :; col ;; 93 cm diam , on sheet 95 x 106 cm. Chicago: Rand McNally, 1980.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3195 1980.R3

Ranger Viii Lunar Map. Sabine Corp Author(S): United States. Army Map Service. ; United States.; National Aeronautics and Space Administration. 1 map :; col ;; 39 x 29 cm. Washington, D.C.: The Administration, 1966.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3195 1965.N2 sabine

Replogle Lunar Globe. 1 globe :; col , free ball with plastic cradle ;; 31 cm in diam. Chicago, Ill.: Replogle Globes, 1982.
Hoskins Map Collection / Globe: G3167.M6R4 1982
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical File: G3167.M6R4 1982 v.f.

Topographic Lunar Maps 1:5,000,000. Corp Author(S): United States. Army Map Service. 1 map on 2 sheets :; col ;; 145 x 106 cm. Washington, D.C.: The Service, 1964.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3195 1964.N2 sheet1 ed.2 (East half)
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3195 1964.N2 sheet2 ed.1 (West half)

Topographic Lunar Maps 1:250,000. Corp Author(S): United States. Army Map Service. 1 map ; col ; 130 x 156 cm in 4 sheets ; Scale 1:250,000: Washington, 1964.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3195 1964.N21 (sheets 1-4)

USAF. Lunar Chart Index. 1962.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3196.A2 1962.N2

Westfall, John Edward. Atlas of the Lunar Terminator. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
Hodges Library / Stacks: QP517.C45W48 2000

Mars

Kieffer, Hugh H. Mars. Space Science Series;. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1992.
Hodges Library / Stacks: QB641.M35 1992
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: QB641.M35 1992

Pictorial Representation of Mars. Corp Author(S): United States. Army Map Service. col map; 86 x 86 cm ; Scale 1:10,000,000 (approx ): Washington, 1965.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3191.M3A4 1965.A5 Sheet 1
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3191.M3A4 1965.A5 Sheet 2

The Red Planet Mars. 3 col maps; 34 cm in diameter on sheet 56 x 94 cm ; Scale 1:31,770,000 ; "One degree of longitude on the equator and one degree of latitude equal 36 7 statute miles or 59 1 kilometers ": Washington, 1973.
Hoskins Map Collection / NGS map

Sky and Telescope Mars Globe. Corp Author(S): Replogle Globes. ; Sky Publishing Corporation. 1 globe :; col , plastic coated paper gores over plastic core, on plastic stand ;; 31 cm in diam +; 1 folded sheet ([8] p. Belmont, Mass.: Sky Pub. Corp., 1993.
Hoskins Map Collection / Globe

Tyner, Richard L., et al. A Catalog of Selected Viking Orbiter Images. Nasa Reference Publication ;; 1093;. Washington, DC National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Scientific and Technical Information Branch: [Springfield Va., 1983.
Hodges Library / Oversize: QB641.T95 1983

Saturn

Batson, Raymond M. Voyager 1 and 2 Atlas of Six Saturnian Satellites. Nasa Sp ;; 474;. Washington, DC: Scientific and Technical Information Branch National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 1984.
Hodges Library / Stacks: QB405.B37 1984

Venus

Kotelnikov, V. A., V. R. Iashchenko, and A. F. Zolotov. Atlas Poverkhnosti Venery. Moskva: Glav. upr. geodezii i kartografii pri Sovete Ministrov SSSR, 1989.
Hodges Library / Oversize: G1000.5.V4 1989.A85

Sky and Telescope Venus Globe. Corp Author(S): Replogle Globes. ; Sky Publishing Corporation. 1 globe :; col , plastic coated paper gores over plastic core, mounted on plastic base ;; 96 cm in diam +; 1 booklet and 1 single-sheet hand-out. Belmont, MA: Sky Pub. Corp., 1995.
Hoskins Map Collection / Globe

     Top of Page


Stars

Brunier, Serge, and Akira Fujii. The Great Atlas of the Stars. Buffalo, N.Y.: Willowdale Ont., 2001.
Hodges Library / Oversize: QB65.B7813 2001

Die Sterne = the Stars = Les Etoiles = Le Stelle. Corp Author(S): Hallwag Ag. 1 map :; col ;; on sheet 82 x 95 cm , folded in covers 21 x 15 cm. Berne: Hallwag, 1989.
Hoskins Map Collection / Vertical file map: G3190 1989 .H3 v.f.

Tirion, Wil. The Cambridge Star Atlas. 2nd. Cambridge University Press, 1996.
Hodges Library / Stacks: QB65.W5 1996

Tirion, Wil. Cambridge Star Atlas 2000.0. Cambridge England: New York, 1991
Closed Stacks / Storage Stacks: QB65.W5 1991

     Top of Page


Historical Maps

Constellations of the Northern Sky : Plate 26 from the Harmonia Macrocosmica Sue Atlas Universalis Novus. 1 map :; col ;; 50 x 58 cm. Salt Lake City, Utah: Hansen Planetarium, 1982.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: QB65.C442 1982a

The Copernican System : [Solar System]. 1 map :; col ;; 38 cm in diam , on sheet 50 x 57 cm. Salt Lake City, Utah: Hansen Planetarium, 1982.
Hoskins Map Collection / Map case: G3180 1661.C4 1982

Edson, Evelyn, and Emilie Savage-Smith. Medieval Views of the Cosmos. Oxford: Bodleian Library, 2004.
Hodges Library / Stacks: BD495.E37 2004

Snyder, George Sergeant. Maps of the Heavens. 1st ed. New York: Abbeville Press, 1984.
Hodges Library / Oversize: QB65.S95 1984

     Top of Page


Miscellaneous

Sanchez, Julio, and Maria P. Canton. Space Image Processing. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 1999.
Hodges Library / Stacks: G70.4.S175 1999

     Top of Page