Skip to main content

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

University Libraries

Genealogy: Getting Started

This guide is intended as an aid to researchers, both to finding materials in our library system, and to point to other useful sources.

Introduction

The Hodges Library collection includes materials which may be useful for genealogical research. Materials are integrated into the general research collection. The Library does not maintain a separate genealogical department, and  there are no genealogical specialists on staff.

The reference collection on the first floor of the Hodges Library includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and indexes which may also be helpful in genealogical research. Ask for assistance in using any of these materials. Reference librarians can suggest additional sources to be consulted and assist in using library’s online catalog  and in locating specific items in the library.

Before beginning a genealogical search, consult the catalog to find guides for advice on research techniques and for sources of further information. The Library has a limited selection listed in the catalog under the subject heading Subject headings that may be used to locate genealogical material:

Search for: Genealogy AND United States
Search for: Genealogy AND Southern States
Keep in mind Genealogy has various subject headings. Check the facets to the left to limit your search. 

 

University of TN Records

The University of Tennessee Telephone Directory, 1921- (with missing volumes). Stacks: LD5288.A4. (The University Archives has from 1911- (with missing volumes)).

Directories of University students, faculty, and staff.

The Volunteer, online 1897- . Stacks: LD5298.V6.

The yearbook for the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Newspapers

Genealogical information in the form of obituaries, biographical sketches, and local news items can be found in newspapers.
As older Tennessee newspapers are not indexed, an approximate date or time span will make searching easier.

Finding newspapers held by the Library

The library has a large collection of microfilmed newspapers. In addition to newspapers for Tennessee, we have microfilm and indexes for national newspapers like the New York Times and foreign newspapers like the Times (London).Tennessee newspapers from the early 1800’s to the present are available on microfilm. 
Check the catalog by title, or subject e.g.: Newspapers AND Knoxville
For Knoxville, we have the Knoxville Journal, 1885-1991 [PER AN48.K6K65] and the Knoxville News-Sentinel, 1922- [PER: AN48.K6K67]

Search Strategies

Subject Guide

Research Assistance
Contact:
Research Assistance
University of Tennessee Libraries
209 Hodges Library
(865) 974-4171

Contribute to big ideas. Give to the Libraries.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System