This is the "Databases" page of the "Agriculture: Food Science & Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


Agriculture: Food Science & Technology   Tags: agriculture, chemistry, databases, food, food science, journals, nutrition  

This guide is designed to help you find databases, web resources, journals and books related to Food Science and Technology.
Last Updated: Dec 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/foodscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Pendergrass Library

Pendergrass

The librarians and staff at Pendergrass Library can help at any step of the research process. If you're experiencing difficulty finding the information you need, using a database, citing your sources, or are having any other trouble, visit our Web site to contact someone for assistance by text chat, e-mail, or phone.

You can also visit us in person. Here's how to find Pendergrass Library, which is located on UT's Agriculture campus.

Agriculture Databases thru Web of Science

Specific Databases

*Online resources at UT Libraries may require NetID and password for off-campus access.

In addition to the databases included in the Agriculture: Databases Guide, the following databases may be useful for food science & technology research:

  • AGRIS (1975-present)
    1975+.
    AGRIS is a free, multilingual database created by the Food and Agriculture Organization to identify agriculture literature worldwide. This is a particularly strong resource for literature from developing countries. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more.

    Subfields indexed include: forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension.
  • Current Protocols in Food Analytical Chemistry
    This title is no longer updated. Provides methods for research and analysis with an emphasis on food components such as water, proteins, enzymes, lipids, carbohydrates, colors, and flavors.
  • Food Science & Technology Abstracts (1969-present)
    1969+.
    An index of citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, legislation, patents, reports, and theses and dissertations on the medical and biological aspects of food and nutrition.

    This database may be searched concurrently with several other databases in this interface by selecting the tab "All Databases." For a list of these databases, select the tab "Select Databases." Click "Log Out" to end your session.
  • Official Methods of Analysis
    Authoritative source of analytical methods for both agricultural and food products used worldwide and is a full-text searchable database capable of searching by method title or number as well as from the table of contents and the index. The database contains over 2,800 collaboratively tested, internationally recognized methods and 222 new and modified methods.

General Databases

  • Agricola (1970-present)
    1970+.
    An index to materials in agriculture and other related fields. This database is excellent for US focused research conducted by the USDA. The database is international in scope; however, since the mid-1980s, the emphasis has shifted to indexing materials that are not indexed by other resources such as CAB Abstracts.

    Subfields indexed include: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental science.
  • Biological Abstracts (1926-present)
    Biological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. Click 'All Databases' tab to search top biological sciences databases simultaneously: Bio Abs, Web of Science, Zoological Record, and CABI. Video tutorials are available, as well as a quick reference card.

    Subfields indexed include: botany, microbiology, and pharmacology.
  • CAB Abstracts (1910-present)
    1910+.
    A comprehensive database indexing citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, and other "grey" literature about significant international research and development literature in the applied life sciences.

    Need help? See CAB Quick Reference Card Guide to Searching, look for tutorials within the search interface, check the training sessions available from Web of Knowledge, or contact the librarians at Pendergrass Library.

    Subfields indexed include: agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
  • Google Scholar
    A search engine for scholarly literature. Use this link to Google Scholar to be recognized as a University of Tennessee user and to see links to the UT FindText service. For more information on Google Scholar, see the Google Scholar FAQ.
  • ScienceDirect
    Coverage varies.
    An index of peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical, and medical content. Content has embedded links to external datasets, including those from PANGAEA, Scopus, and Reaxys, where applicable.
  • Web of Science 1900+
    1900+.
    An index of the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes simultaneous access to Food & Science Technology Abstracts, Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts, MEDLINE and Zoological Records. Click here for a list of journals indexed in Web of Science.

Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources Librarian

 

Responsible Conduct of Research

Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR) is an important topic for science students. Research Ethics for Scientists: A Companion for Students, written by Dr. Neal Stewart of UT's Department of Plant Sciences, is recommended reading on the subject. You can access this book below.

You can find additional sources for information about RCR in this document from the National Science Foundation. Columbia University has a series of online courses on RCR here.

Cover Art
Research Ethics for Scientists - C. Neal (Jr) Stewart
Call Number: Q180.55.M67 S76 2011
ISBN: 9780470745649
Publication Date: 2011
Online resource available to unlimited users. Click the title to access this e-book.

This book is also available at both Hodges and AgVet by using the call number listed.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip