This guide is designed to help you find databases, web resources, journals, books and professional associations related to entomology and plant pathology.
The librarians and staff at Pendergrass Library can help at any step of the research process. If you're experiencing difficulty finding the information you need, using a database, citing your sources, or are having any other trouble, visit our Web site to contact someone for assistance by text chat, e-mail, or phone.
You can also visit us in person. Here's how to find Pendergrass Library, which is located on UT's Agriculture campus.
*Online resources at UT Libraries may require NetID and password for off-campus access.
In addition to the databases included in the Agriculture Databases Guide, the following databases may also be useful for entomology and plant pathology research:
- AGRIS (1975-present)
AGRIS is a free, multilingual database created by the Food and Agriculture Organization to identify agriculture literature worldwide. This is a particularly strong resource for literature from developing countries. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more.
Subfields indexed include: forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension.
- Crop Protection Compendium via Web
An encyclopedic, mixed-media tool that draws together scientific information on all aspects of crop protection. It features extensive global coverage of pests, diseases, weeds and their natural enemies, the crops that are their hosts, and the countries in which they occur.Detailed datasheets, pictures for easy identification, bibliographic records, and full-text journal and conference articles are available.
Select "Log In" (upper right hand corner), then select "Continue using IP Address." Be sure to select "Log Off" when finished.
- Environment Abstracts (1975-present)
This database covers all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.
The database includes journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations, books, government studies and newsletters.
- PubMed (1948 to present)
An index of citations, abstracts, and some full text for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Help searching PubMed is available
, as well as a tutorial
- Plant Management Network International
A database that provides full text, quick and easy access to fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, conference papers, and training resources about applied plant sciences. Indexes articles in four peer-reviewed journals: Applied Turfgrass Science, Plant Health Progress, Forage and Grazinglands, and Crop Management. Also includes an image database of field crops, vegetables, fruits, trees, tropical plants, and turf grass.
- Agricola (1970-present)
An index to materials in agriculture and other related fields. This database is excellent for US focused research conducted by the USDA. The database is international in scope; however, since the mid-1980s, the emphasis has shifted to indexing materials that are not indexed by other resources such as CAB Abstracts.
Subfields indexed include: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental science.
- Biological Abstracts (1926-present)
Biological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. Click 'All Databases' tab to search top biological sciences databases simultaneously: Bio Abs
, Web of Science
, Zoological Record
, and CABI
. Video tutorials
are available, as well as a quick reference card
Subfields indexed include: botany, microbiology, and pharmacology.
- CAB Abstracts (1910-present)
A comprehensive database indexing citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, and other "grey" literature about significant international research and development literature in the applied life sciences.
Need help? See CAB Quick Reference Card Guide to Searching
, look for tutorials within the search interface, check the training sessions
available from Web of Knowledge, or contact the librarians
at Pendergrass Library.
Subfields indexed include: agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
- Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly literature. Use this link to Google Scholar to be recognized as a University of Tennessee user and to see links to the UT FindText service. For more information on Google Scholar, see the Google Scholar FAQ
An index of peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical, and medical content. Content has embedded links to external datasets, including those from PANGAEA, Scopus, and Reaxys, where applicable.
- Web of Science 1900+
An index of the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes simultaneous access to Food & Science Technology Abstracts, Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts, MEDLINE and Zoological Records. Click here
for a list of journals indexed in Web of Science.
A113 Veterinary Medical Center
Knoxville, TN 37996-4541
fax: 865.974.4732Send Email
, UT Extension
, Agricultural & Extension Education
, Animal Science
, Biosystems Engineering & Environmental Science
, Entomology & Plant Pathology
, Food Science & Technology
, Wildlife & Fisheries
, Plant Sciences
Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR) is an important topic for science students. Research Ethics for Scientists: A Companion for Students, written by Dr. Neal Stewart of UT's Department of Plant Sciences, is recommended reading on the subject. You can access this book below.
You can find additional sources for information about RCR in this document from the National Science Foundation. Columbia University has a series of online courses on RCR here.
Research Ethics for Scientists
Call Number: Q180.55.M67 S76 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Online resource available to unlimited users. Click the title to access this e-book.
This book is also available at both Hodges and AgVet by using the call number listed.