Skip to main content

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

University Libraries

English 118: Honors First-Year Composition

This guide will help students find primary and secondary sources for their research assignments.

What is a Primary Source?


This video will help you understand primary sources.

Want More Information?

Librarians are here to help!  Use the Research Guides to find more information in your subject area, and meet your subject librarian.

About the Guide

If you have questions or comments about this guide, contact Kelly Tilton.

Find Primary Sources

Click here for the Primary Sources Guide

It lists digitized special collections and rare items from libraries and museums worldwide, including UT.  It will help you find:

  • Historical images and newspapers
  • Tennessee historical sources
  • Primary sources about food, gender, race, and many more topics

Special Collections at UT Libraries

Special Collections at the UT Libraries have specialized Teaching Collections for English 102 & 118 classes.  You may use Special Collections as a 102 or 118 student if your topic falls under one of these categories:

More information is at the bottom of the Special Collections instruction page, under "English 102 Instruction."  The Teaching Collections are housed in Special Collections in Hodges Library and are available without submitting a request form.

The Special Collections research guides also identify some of the collections' strengths.  Keep in mind that the majority of these materials have not been digitized and are only available to users in the Special Collections Reading Room.  You will have to complete a request form for any item you want brought to the Reading Room.


Special Collections Video
Watch this video to learn about UT's rare books and Special Collections.


Writing Help

Contribute to big ideas. Give to the Libraries.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System