Skip to Main Content

Microform Research Collections: African American

Subject research collections reproduced on microfilm, microfiche, or microcard.

Online Guides

  • Tennessee State Library & Archives - African American Collections of Note

  • U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. African American Research.

  • LexisNexis Primary Sources in US History - African American History

  • Primary Source Media's Microfilm Online Guides - African American Studies

  • Scholarly Resources Online Guides

    • African American Microform Sets - A Selected List

    The UT Library holds several microform sets of primary source materials that are valuable for research. While titles of microform sets are searchable in the online catalog, only the contents for some sets have been analyzed for catalog searching. Many sets have printed guides and finding aids that specify content locations within the set. These guides to microform sets are located on the first floor, 120 Hodges Libary.

    Connect to the guide for African American Studies for more information on African American materials in the library.

    • Afro-American History Series.
      Hodges DocMic Microfiche: E185.A322

    • Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950.
      Hodges DocMic Microfiche: E185.96.B523 1987

    • Black Literature, 1827-1940
      Full-text Hodges DocMic Microfiche: PS508.N3B43
      Connect to Index on CD-ROM.

    • Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929.
      Storage/Microfilm: E185.8.B5628

    • Carnegie-Myrdal Study
      Storage/Microfilm: E185.6.C37

    • Centers of the Southern Struggle: FBI Files on Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis
      Storage/Microfilm: E185.61.C4

    • Congress of Racial Equality Papers.
      Storage/Microfilm: E185.61.C793 Pt. 2 only

    • FBI Files
      Search the online catalog using "FBI file ..."

    • Langston Hughes Collection
      Storage/Microfilm: PS3515.U274

    • Miscellaneous Negro Newspapers 
      Storage/Microfilm:AN3.N4 M6 
      Guide/DocMic:AN3.N4 M63 1985
      A collection of over 200 newspapers at the Library of Congress from the mid-1800's to the mid-1900's.

    • Papers of the Congress of Racial Equlity, 1941-1967.
      Storage/Microfilm: E185.61.C79

    • Papers of the NAACP
      Storage/Microfilm: E185.5.E276A1

    • The Paul L. Dunbar papers: at the Ohio Historical Society
      Storage/Microfilm: PS1556.A4

    • Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States.
      Storage/Microfilm: E444.F27

    • Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972.
      Storage/Microfilm: E185.61.S916