Costume and Fashion Books
- Encyclopedia of clothing and fashionHodges Reference / Reference: GT507 .E53 2005
World Clothing and FashionCall Number: GT507 .S6 2013Publication Date: 2013Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colourful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization ...
- e-Book also available
The Historical Encyclopedia of CostumesCall Number: GT510 .R3313 1988Publication Date: 1988Organized into four principal sections with a scope ranging from the ancient world to the nineteenth century, this illustrated volume offers a detailed accounting of men's and women's clothing, both fashions and formal wear as well as everyday garb.
Everyday Fashions of the Twenties As Pictured in Sears and Other CatalogsISBN: 0486241343Publication Date: 1981Accurate record of actual dress of the Roaring Twenties in over 150 pages of mail-order catalogs, selected and with text by Stella Blum. Over 750 illustrations, captions.
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs by Call Number: TT555 .S633 1998Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalogs, 1960s.
Other years available.
- Contemporary fashionHodges Reference / Reference: TT505.A1 C66 1995
- International directory of historical clothingHodges Reference / Reference: NK4700 .H8
- Fashion production termsHodges Library / Stacks: TT503 .G5
Hodges Reference / Reference: TT503 .G5 - Illustrated encyclopaedia of costume and fashion : from 1066 to the presentHodges Reference / Reference: GT720 .C37 1994
- Fashion dictionary; fabric, sewing, and apparel as expressed in the language of fashionHodges Reference / Reference: TT503 .P5 1973
- Pantone book of color : over 1000 color standards : color basics and guidelines for design, fashion, furnishings-- and moreHodges Reference / Reference: QC494.2 .E36 1990
- Who’s who in fashionHodges Reference / Reference: TT505.A1 S74 1988
- Academic heraldry in AmericaHodges Reference / Reference: LB2389 .S5
- Entertainment ... sourcebookHodges Library / Serial in stacks: PN2289 .E574
Hodges Reference / Reference: PN2289 .E574 - Fairchild’s dictionary of fashionHodges Reference / Reference: TT503 .C34 1988
Web Resources
- Theatre in Context CollectionThousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, including costume design.
- The Costume Institute at the MetThe Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
- Victoria and Albert Costume CollectionAmong the Theatre and Performance collections there are over 3,500 stage costumes and accessories - ranging from complete outfits to individual headdresses.
- Kyoto Costume InstituteIn addition to collecting Western clothing, accessories, and related documents, the KCI is involved in research activities.
- Historic Costume & Textiles CollectionA scholarly and artistic museum resource of apparel and textile material culture housed at Ohio State University. The 9000+ holdings include textiles, clothing and accessories for men, women, and children, including national dress costume, from the mid-18th century to contemporary 21st century designers. The museum also houses some fashion plates and swatch books.
- Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT)The museum's online collections feature more than 2,500 object images as well as installation images from over 100 past exhibitions.
- Fashion History Timeline (FIT)The timeline is source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe. It offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on specific artworks, garments and films for those interested in fashion and dress history.
- Fashion History Timeline Source Database (FIT)A searchable database of reliable academic publications on fashion and dress history and a much more extensive Zotero database that students and researchers can draw on and contribute to (www.zotero.org/groups/1341706/fashion_history_timeline/library)
- Costume History at The Costumer's Manifesto"Western costume by period."
- Vogue ArchiveEvery issue and every page of Vogue, 1892-present.
- Costume Society of America's YouTube ChannelThe Costume Society of America fosters an understanding of appearance and dress practices of people across the globe through research, education, preservation, and design. Our network of members studies the past, examines the present, and anticipates the future of clothing and fashion.
- Fashion Plate Collection, University of WashingtonPrimarily hand-colored engravings with some colored lithographs after 1885. Many plates are from leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century: Belle assemblée; Le bon ton; Le Follet, courrier des salons; Journal des dames and des modes; Godey's lady's book and magazine, and others.
- Couturiere Parisienne"This site is all about period costume, from the Middle Ages up to the early 20th century. Access 4000 costume pictures through a database, read one of hundreds of articles, or download some authentic period patterns."
- Elizabethan Costume PageOverview of Elizabethan costume by Drea Leed.
- Fashion-Era"Fashion-era contains 755 content rich, illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History."
- Folkwear"Folkwear patterns have been used by theatre and dance costumers, historic reenactors, art-to-wear aficionados, and anyone who enjoys dressing up."
- Image Collection Research GuideA guide to image collections found in library databases and other online sources.
- Google Arts and CultureExplore collections from around the world with thousands of artworks photographed in extremely high resolution.
- ARTstor
This link opens in a new window
