Newspapers Databases
For current newspaper articles, try these databases first.
Note: Due to copyright restrictions, some free-lance articles and images may not be available. You can search for specific titles in UT Collections to see if we have microfilmed copies.
- Nexis UniProvides content from US and international magazines, journals, newspapers, television/radio broadcasts and other news sources dating back mostly from the 1990s with some content back to the 1970s.
- Access World News, Research CollectionIncludes newspapers, blogs, newswires, transcripts and videos from local, regional, national and international news sources. Provides access to smaller U.S. newspapers not covered in LexisNexis.
- FactivaProvides full-text from business and industry news from newspapers, journals, magazines, newswires, transcripts, and blogs. The only resource with current issues of the Wall Street Journal.
- Ethnic Newswatch"Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press" in the U.S.
- Associated Press Images CollectionA large collection of historical and contemporary photos from the Associated Press.
Historical Newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1993Full-text collection of U.S. newspapers. See list of titles.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
A collection of selected U.S. newspapers. Dates vary, but most titles date back to the 1800s.
Other Newspapers in Our Collection & Beyond
Search UT Collections for specific titles we may have on microfilm. To find titles by location, choose the Advanced Search option, then search for the word newspapers and the name of the state or city as a subject (e.g., newspapers atlanta).
If we don't have the newspaper you need, you may make an interlibrary loan request.
Search WorldCat to discover newspapers owned by other libraries around the world. UTK researchers may also borrow from the Center for Research Libraries' extensive collection of newspaper titles from countries in all world regions and from every U.S. state, including U.S. ethnic titles and some of the earliest African American papers.