Research Guides: EndNote: Problems & Fixes

Problems and Solutions

Covers switching between abbreviated and full text titles; solving problems with compatibility between EndNote and Track Changes; and how to get citations into EndNote when all you have is a Word document.

Pubmed Journal Names Abbreviations

Pubmed Journal Names Abbreviations Issue

References imported into Endnote from Pubmed/ Medline show abbreviations instead of full names. Full names are required by some styles, such as APA. Endnote.com's video gives a solution.

Endnote Training Video on Journal Names

Track Changes Problems with Endnote

Endnote sometimes creates formatting problems with Track Changes. The following link shows how to solve the problem.

Track Changes with Endnote

Converting Word Bibliographies to Endnote Records

Converting Windows Word Master Libraries
Windows machines with Endnote installed can convert Word citations that have been created using Word's citations and bibliography features.
Converting Mac Word Master Libraries
To find the Sources.xml file on a Mac (which contains the citations created using Wiord's citations and bibliography feature) go to Users/Library/ApplicationSupport/Microsoft/Office. Then copy Sources.xml onto a Windows machine, browse for it, and follow the instructions about exporting to Endnote above.
Ref2ris for Mac Computers
Ref2ris converts bibliographies in various kinds of documents to .ris files that can be imported into Endnote. It works best with APA, but you can also use the Generic style for other kinds of styles. Some editing will be required. Only works on Mac computers.

Using Google Scholar to Get References into Endnnote
Change Google Scholar settings to select Endnote as the Bibliography Manager. You will then see an "import into Endnote" choice after items you find in Google Scholar. You can get a list of references into Endnote fairly quickly by copying and pasting each reference into Google Scholar and then importing each one into Endnote. Some editing may be required.

Get Help

Help via email:
endnote@utk.edu

Help from Endnote.com :
1-800-336-4474

People who can help:
Jeanine Williamson Fletcher
for University of Tennessee Knoxville
jwilliamson@utk.edu
(865) 974-9164

Paul Gahn
for University of Tennesee Health Sciences Center (University of Tennessee Memphis)
pgahn@uthsc.edu
(901) 448-7351