This is the "Home" page of the "Religious Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


Religious Studies  

Use this guide to find information and resources for religious studies at the University of Tennessee.
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/content.php?pid=319496 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sacred Elephant

UT Libraries' Catalog

 

AskUsNow

Key Resources

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials 1949+   About ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials  UTK Users (w/NetID)
Indexes journal articles and scholarly essays on world religions and religious perspectives on social issues. Unlimited users.

JSTOR varies   About JSTOR  UTK Users (w/NetID)
A collection of selected scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Most titles do not include the most recent 3-5 years. For more current research, search one of our general or subject-specific databases.To search for titles in religion, jewish studies, middle east studies, click the advanced search link and select the subject areas you want to search in the box below.

Religion Compass

Religion compass publishes peer-reviewed articles of the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline and organizes the site to facilitate identification of major issues, viewpoints, and controversies within each area of the discipline. Approximately one hundred survey articles are published each year, three times more than the standard journal.

Google Scholar   About Google Scholar  UTK Users (w/NetID)
Use this link to Google Scholar to be recognized as a University of Tennessee user and to see links to the UT FindText service. For more information on Google Scholar, see the Google Scholar FAQ.

      

    Key Resources- Statistics

    • The Association of Religion Data Archives
      Provides data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations, and denominations), in a project funded by the Lilly Endowment. Includes interactive map and membership reports of religious congregations, adherents, and rates of adherence, searchable by state, county, and metropolitan area. Also provides the 2000 General Social Survey, the National Congregational Study, and over 190 other studies. Offers background information, survey qu
    • Adherents
      Provides statistical information on over 4,200 religions, denominations, churches, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, and movements. Data are derived from census data, polls, surveys and organizational reports.

    Catalog Searches for Topics

    Click on the topic to search the UTK Libraries Online Catalog.

    Use the facets at the left of the search results to narrow your search.

    Bible

    Qurʾān

    Pāli Tipitaka

    Bhagavad Gita

    Tanakh

    Christian  

    Islam    

    Mahayana sutras

    Hindu Scriptures

    Judaism

    More

    More

    Buddhism

    Hinduism

    All Religous Texts

    Research Librarian

    Profile Image
    Ken Wise
    Contact Info
    152 Hodges Library
    University of Tennessee
    Knoxville, TN 37996-1000
    865-974-2359
    Send Email

    Open Access Books

    This open access library allows searching by keywords,author, title, etc. A simple search under the key word "religion" yielded 448 titles. Feel free to try this library yourself.

    • OAPEN
      OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is a collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The OAPEN Library aims to improve the visibility and usability of high quality academic research by aggregating peer reviewed Open Access publications from across Europe
    • The Newton Papers
      The National Library of Israel has digitized over 7500 pages of Sir Isaac Newton's handwritten theological material. It is his study of Jewish Philosophy, the mysticism of kabbalah and the Talmud. While considered one of the greatest scientists of all times, he was also an influential theologian.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip